newgyptian
newgyptian

Darude
May 08, 2006


So a huge, eerie, somewhat scary sandstorm blew into Cairo on Saturday afternoon, and seems to have taken whatever feelings I was having towards PG with it. Which is a relief. It might also be the fact that I spent pretty much all day Friday, part of Saturday, and last night with him, and was repeatedly reminded of why it would be such a bad idea. In the aftermath of his latest breakup PG is finally coming to terms with the fact that he is one of those folks who can�t stand to be alone, and wants to constantly be with whoever he�s with. We both know that I need a lot of space. We talked about all this while walking to Art therapy Hoda�s birthday dinner in Zamalek, and he again reiterated his feelings that it would be great if we could be a couple because of the level of comfort and affection we have towards each other, but that it might also be the worst idea ever. (So, Greg, no need to worry about playing third wheel, though read on as you might have to play body guard.)

Doodz arrived at the birthday dinner shortly after PG, the brothers Nandy, and I got there. Because we don�t really know Hoda�s other friends we kind of huddled together at one corner of the table. When Doodz came in, there was pretty much no other place for him to sit other than next to Hoda, which was close enough for us to exchange pleasantries, but not close enough to have a proper conversation. Maybe he didn�t like the fact that I was cosily curled up on the couch next to PG, with Andy on my left and N. directly opposite me, but he kept giving me these intense stares. Finally I made some joke, and broke the ice, and after that, when Hoda got up he pretty much ordered me to come sit next to him. He was acting so intensely weird that Nandy and PG, who barely know him, offered to �take care of him� for me. I decided to play it nice, and went and sat next to him. Things were really, really weird. He went through a range of emotions, a lot of them violent. At one point he was telling me how pissed off he was, while banging his hands on the table and fake-punching himself. Almost immediately after that, when I attempted to lighten the mood with a few jokes, he started laughing maniacally. Then, he turned morose again when I told him I�d have to leave soon. Finally, as I made to leave, he grabbed my arm and jokingly but not jokingly told me that he wouldn�t let me go. Nandy had left by this point, but PG was sitting across the table watching the scene unfold, and giving me concerned, questioning glances. Doodz only let me go when I told him that we could get coffee later on in the week, alone. Oh, yeah, he was upset because we haven�t hung out alone in a couple of months, and he felt that I was too focused on the friends I had come with and not giving him enough of my attention. WTF?

As I was hugging PG goodbye he whispered, �Ah, sis, now I understand why you don�t want a relationship with this guy. He seemed pretty cool when I first met him that one time, but now I�d just fear for your safety.�

I�m not really sure what to do about Doodz. He is really good friends with Hoda, who is not only a new friend to me, but her parents are good friends of my parents. I don�t want to make things awkward, but I also don�t think I should actually spend any time alone with him. Other than his apparent emotional disorders, Doodz has about five inches on me, and is a kick boxer. I would not want to piss him off.

What to do?

go west + go east