newgyptian
newgyptian

Not quite
April 11, 2006

Hmm�I was going to continue a bit on last week�s topic of relationships and move onto the topic of letting go, but the weather�s nice out and I�m feeling all aflutter, and frankly I don�t have the brainpower at the moment.

Last night, as is the usual for Monday nights, I went to art therapy, and at the end of my �session� with Dr. M. he told me, �I shouldn�t be telling you this, but whatever you�ve been doing/saying to [insert young man from last post who said that he relates to sex in the same way women do] keep doing it. Whatever it is, you�ve really helped him out. I saw such a change in him from one week to another, just because of a conversation he had with you.�

So, yay! The confirmation/validation that I�ve managed to help a friend who was very much in need out is a kind of validation that I�d rather not do without.

I arrived home a bit later than usual from art therapy, and just as I was about to walk into my building the boy I mentioned in this post (the friend of a friend who sometimes drives me home after art therapy) called me. Here�s the thing. About three weeks ago, this guy�we�ll call him Doodz�called me up. I hadn�t heard from or seen him in a couple of weeks, and he called up and said, �Newgy! Did you miss me? I was in Turkey on business, and it broke my heart to think that there was no one in Cairo to bug you.�

I assume this was his lame attempt at flirtation. It was also the first time he�d called me just to chat. In the days following he called me up almost everyday, sometimes twice a day, and I would endure the conversations with him. I hate talking on the phone, especially when the reception is shady, especially when I didn�t really know how to respond to his attempted advances. Each time he called he�d make some sort of flirty remark, and say stuff that left me thinking, �Hmm�okay�where is this going?� I find this guy fairly attractive, he�s funny, and fun to be around, even if he is a crap phone conversationalist, but he has one main problem�he is way too Egyptian for my tastes. And when I say way too Egyptian, I mean he�s going to want a commitment of some sort right from the start.

This has been my fear anyway over the last few weeks, and it was sort of confirmed last night when he called just as I was entering my building. Since it was a Monday night�our usual night to see each other�he wanted to know what I�d been up to, and to express his regrets about not seeing me. Then he said, �Where are you? Why are you going home so early? Why can�t you stay out and see me?� [This was him trying to joke around, because it was 11pm, and this is the same guy who a month ago drove behind me to make sure I arrived home safely because he thought 10:30 pm was too late for me to be driving alone in Cairo.] In any case, I mumbled some sort of response about how I had to get home before my parents started to worry (which is a lie), to which he said, �Why don�t you let me come over to talk to your dad? I�ll let him know that his daughter is safe under my protection.�

Now the phrase he used to say, �Let me come over and talk to your dad,� was scarily similar to the phrase a young man would use to say, �Let me come over and ask your father for your hand in marriage.�

I tried to keep things light by telling him that if he came over at that hour to speak to my dad not even his kickboxing skills (Doodz is an accomplished kickboxer) would save him. Then I pretended that the reception was bad and I couldn�t hear him (or rather that the reception was worse than it was), and begged off.

*Sigh* What ever happened to young men wanting to mess around? What ever happened to boys who are afraid of commitment? Why do I seem to be this magnet for serious, commitment-ready young men? (Oh, there have been other stories lately, but none so developed as this one with Doodz.) Why can't some nice-looking boy use me for a hook-up and then leave me be? Is it too much to ask for really?

In other news, my boss is leaving next week for a three-week vacation, and the guy who is supposed to help me out if I need it while she�s gone came in so we could meet today. Hubba hubba. I�m looking forward to three weeks in the office with this tall, lanky, British boarding school bloke.

go west + go east