newgyptian
newgyptian

Score
February 09, 2006


We�re in the finals!!!! It was a tense game against Senegal (whose team by the way is totally hot), but we held on and a sub scored what would be the winning goal in the 80th minute. It was intense, especially since I watched it with the usual gang of friends at our usual soccer-watching venue, but the caf� was PACKED. And at one point one of the large video screens fell down. And then later a huge fight broke out at the beginning of the second half of the game, and we were all confused as to what was happening because some people were yelling, �Nar!!� (Fire!) But then things settled down, another friend arrived, and I had to practically sit in my friend Andy�s lap to make room for the newly-arrived friend on the lounge chairs we were sitting on.

Which is what this entry is really all about.

Andy is the younger (he�s a very mature 21) brother of N. who I have mentioned a couple of times here as my first (and actually only longish-lasting) crush in Cairo. I have also referred to them here, I think, as the brothers Nandy. In any case�some history on the boys Nandy. Nandy were the Egyptian-born, Ohio-bred very good friends of Mini�s American boyfriend who left Egypt about two weeks before I moved back here. Her boyfriend kind of left Mini �in the care of� the brothers Nandy, knowing that they could be trusted to keep Mini entertained but not, um, TOO entertained. In any case, Mini and her American boy couldn�t keep it together, and broke up a couple months after he left. The brothers Nandy hung around though, and ended up becoming me and Mini�s default hangout/shisha buddies.

Now, it was always kind of understood that N. was �mine� and that Andy was Mini�s boy. Andy, though young, sounds like he should be smoking a pipe and wearing a smoking jacket and leather slippers. He�s a flirtatious English major, who can make a fast food menu sound sexy, and he and Mini have often jokingly planned what their wild wedding would be like. N. is the quiet, more serious and shy philosophy major, who used to be a stoner until recently�when he found religion. It�s okay. He�s still cool, just not someone I crush on anymore. But it still remains...when Mini and I spoke about the brothers Nandy, N. was always referred to as mine, and Andy was Mini�s.

But lately, I�ve noticed that Andy has been paying me a little more attention. And then last night, due to the squeeze, he ended up sitting with his arm around for most of the second half of the game. He kept apologizing, saying he hoped he wasn�t making me uncomfortable, and well obviously he wasn�t. It was really nice to sit for 40 minutes in the warm crook of his arm, feeling his chest move in and out, and having him occasionally growl something funny in my ear.

And anyway, this? Isn�t going to go anywhere. The brothers Nandy are so far into the friend zone now, that they�re almost in the brother zone. But lately I�ve been on a serious anti-man kick. In fact, I�m pretty disgusted with their lot in general. So it was kind of refreshing to be reminded in the most minor way that sometimes boys are nice.

go west + go east