newgyptian
newgyptian

Sell the kids for food
March 14, 2006

Spring is upon us, and here's how I know - my stomach has been jittery for the past two weeks.

It happens every spring, though in the past it's often coincided with having a new love on the horizon, or with a rekindled old love. But other than the new hot guy at the gym, and the mild flirtation with the cute, intense, but very Egyptian (read: not gonna happen) friend of a friend who insists on driving me home after what have become regular post-art therapy dinners at Pizza Thomas in Zamalek, there are currently no prospects of any kind on the horizon. And I'm perfectly okay with that.

In other news, JIM has been emailing me lately. Nowhere near as intensely as before, and I don't think this will become a regular thing. But he started out with an apology about being a jackass (his word, not mine) in Ireland, which I thought was nice. And now he's emailing me music and book recommendations, which is also nice.

I only bring it up because to me it's another way I know it's spring. Things which I thought were long gone and buried resurface for a nice resolution. And other issues I've been struggling with lately, but have been too embarrassed or confused to detail here seem to be just floating away, and the most recurrent thought I have these days is, "Man, I have it so good."

go west + go east