newgyptian
newgyptian

Back to art therapy
December 29, 2005

If things had worked out, if Cherry hadn�t decided to leave and go to Canada to pursue a PhD, I would be in Kerala right now celebrating the marriage of one of my oldest friends to, by all accounts, one of the sweetest boys. Alas, two days after I�d reserved my ten-day trip to India, Cherry dropped the bomb that she would be leaving us. I am not bitter, or upset, just�not going. Ah well, it would�ve been a fun experience. Hopefully, (PRETTY PLEASE?) I�ll be able to recreate it sometime in February or March.
I�ve got a lot of things in my head, on my plate, but again just don�t feel like talking about it.
This past Monday, Di finally managed to come to art therapy with me (yes, I still go, though not as regularly as I used to at first). She�s been trying to come for a while now, but had some scheduling conflicts. Eyeore also called me up saying he was bored, so I told him to come along. He seemed a bit skeptical at first, but I think both he and Di enjoyed it. Dr. M. basically, completely �mis-analyzed� Di�s personality through her paintings, but she did say afterwards, �It was really soothing/relaxing.� I agree. It�s funny, not matter the psychological aspect of it. A lot of times I go to art therapy not really in the mood to �create�, but then once I get started I don�t want to stop. This last time I noticed that my face got really hot and my cheeks flushed, and I realized that that happens to me a lot at art therapy, regardless of surrounding temperatures. I wonder if my body becomes subconsciously excited and energized? I�ll have to try and keep track of this phenomenon.
Anyway, I don�t know if I�m allowed to post pictures of Di and Eyeore�s paintings (which I though turned out pretty cool, even though both said they haven�t painted in years), but I haven�t posted pictures of any of my stuff since I came back from Ireland, so I�ll do that.
In approximately chronological order �
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Victims of Love

This was my first painting after I got back from Ireland. I wasn�t feeling aggressive or sad or anything like that when I painted it, it just kind of came out, and I was amused by it. However, everyone else art therapy that day took a step AWAY from me, thinking that I was painting out some wicked fantasy. Dr. M. said that I�ve been feeling guilty lately about two ex-loves in my life. In fact he said, �These are your victims. Victims of your love.� Hahaha. I guess, at the time, he was kind of right though.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Circles in the sand, round and round�.

I felt that these shapes and colors were soothing. Dr. M. said that I was thinking a lot about changing careers or jobs or making some other big change in my life. Well, he was actually right about that too at the time.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
The Hebrew word �Khi��live�as inspired by Madonna�s �Die Another Day� video :)

Dr. M was really impressed with this one, so much in fact that he asked me to give him a week to think about it. In the end, he didn�t have anything interesting to say, just that he thought it was quite good. *shrug*

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

So, with this one I just wanted to paint red. Then I decided to paint purple over the red, and somehow that turned into a hand. Anyway, the black door in the background on the left? I painted that as an afterthought. It�s a little joke to myself, because I saw the hand grabbing the �world�, and I thought, �We want the world and we want it now.� Yeah, I have a pretty dorky sense of humor.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This was another accidental painting. I just wanted to paint the paper all black, and then I let my brush go and it ended up being this kinda creepy looking thing. Dr. M said that it represents an internal struggle I�m having. There is something that I just don�t want to see, even though it�s right before my eyes. He said there are also issues buried in the �caverns� behind my head.Ok. Personally, I think I just had Superman on the brain.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com Dr. M said that the two triangles on top of one another represent me and the current state of imbalance I�m in. Dr. M is also convinced that there is a motif of �home� and wanting to leave it in my paintings. He says, I keep painting home because I�m too attached to it, but I also want to leave. So this painting, I guess, is meant to represent my indecision on the matter. Image hosted by Photobucket.com These are just two little drawings I did a couple of weeks ago when I wasn�t feeling very art therapy, but went anyway because PG was going. Notice how the drawing on the left is all self-referential and shit?

Well, I hope you all enjoyed this art therapy update. I have a couple more pictures actually, but I�ll save those for a later date.

* Sorry about the messed up sizing. Am trying to fix that.

go west + go east