newgyptian
newgyptian

Query
February 20, 2006

Note: If you haven't already and feel like doing it, please fill out theJohari/Nohari.

Query:So, even though I had to miss going to my friend's wedding in India, I had pretty much decided that once things settled down at work I would try to make a 10-day trip to see her in Delhi. That was the plan, but lately I've been thinking that maybe I should stay closer to home. I am yet to see the temples at Luxor and Aswan, and Mini would like to do the Nile Cruise in early April. I would also like to go to the Levant and, hmm, maybe Yemen.

So, my question to you is this - Do I go to India for 10 days and spend tons of money on a plane ticket? Or take a bunch of smaller budget trips in the region?

Place your votes now. Keep in mind that I am looking to leave "the region" in the near future, and so would consider trips in the area a last hurrah if you will.

Moving along...
I had a much needed one-on-one hang out session with my "bro", PG, tonight. We've been trying to hang out (or rather, he's been trying to drag me to see Narnia) for the past couple of weeks, but our schedules were not permitting. Tonight though we actually both made a real effort, and I'm glad we did. Our typically inuendo-filled banter, and heartfelt relationship talk shared over the best coffee and cheesecake in town was much needed on both sides. Though I like to gripe about what a big girl's blouse he is when I haven't seen him for a while, I realize whenver I'm with him how happy I am that we are good friends. Other than the fact that we can amuse each other to no end, I also feel like I can be fairly open and defenseless with him. Not that I generally am, because he ends up being the main topic of conversation most of the time, but I can and have admitted to him things that I would feel really uncomfortable admitting to someone who a) has known me longer and better, or b) doesn't know me at all. He doesn't make a big deal of things, but he doesn't ignore them either. He was the first to know about my "down with love" proclamation, and he remains the only one to know the real reason why.

That's the thing about PG - he knows me just right. (As evidenced by the guy he tried to set me up with on Thursday, who was phsically ideal, and great on paper, but who just didn't "do it" for me. Just right, because it gave me something to look at on a Thursday evening, but did not make me feel like I wanted to do anything to further the process along.)

In any case, we talked a bit about our possible plans for the future, and where we want to end up in a year or so. Somehow it ended with us sharing a house in Manchester while working towards second master's degrees. And then PG said something like, "God, sis, I'd love to share a house with you in a debauched country. It would be a laugh."

We'd be just like the kids in This Life, and it would be fucking grand.

go west + go east