newgyptian
newgyptian

Bursting bins and melons
March 22, 2005


Woo! Diaryland is back up and I can now share with you all those thoughts I�ve been storing up for a few days.


I just ate the most delicious melon, honeydew. Mm. mm. A couple of days ago I saw my first stack of watermelons. Summer is fast approaching y�all, which means my birthday is coming up and I am nowhere near finished the list of things I was supposed to have accomplished by 25. Oh well.
But speaking of melons, I had a dream last week wherein my breasts just kept growing and growing, and just reached astronomical proportions. I know that my male readers are probably Beavis and Buttheading, �Heh, cool,� but it SO WAS NOT. Dudes, it was painful, and really it was on the verge of turning into a nightmare. I couldn�t breath and I was seriously afraid that the �melons� were about to burst. Owa.


Luckily I woke up to find that my breasts were not, in fact, about to burst, but only that I had gotten my period for the third time IN FORTY DAYS. Yeah, do the math. Something just ain�t right.


So, aside from slowly bleeding to death, I am super busy at work. As previously mentioned, Monde has abandoned me for 6 weeks, leaving me in charge of the office and Cherry, the new co-worker. The new co-worker who also abandoned me this past Thursday through Monday to go to Sharm al-Sheikh. Waaah. I mean, I�d known for at least a month that she would be leaving for a couple of days while Monde was gone, but manohman, have I been spending a hell of a lot time at work as a result. Saturday thru Monday I was in the office from 10:30 am till 9 pm, and unlike my usual, I was actually frantically working the whole time. Only yesterday did I manage to squeeze in some of my usual web-surfing, time-wasting activities.


Anyway, needless to say, I�m EXHAUSTIFIED, and really glad that Cherry will be coming back to the office today. Yippee!


Interestingly enough, the more busy I am, the more I seem to do (actually, I realize this is not that interesting, as many people are also like this). But, in the past two weeks I�ve been trying to take a proactive role in improving my life, namely, my love life. Needless to say that has been a total bust, but I have to thank Di and PG for humoring my efforts. After having given up on ever again speaking to �Fred� , the hippyish boy from Vermont who let me check out some books on his library card many months ago (well, he would have if his card hadn�t already been full, but he made the effort anyway), a couple of weeks ago I decided to start stalking him again. I thought I�d written an entry somewhere about how Teej had told me that he works at a local bar, and about how I always see him at the same spot in the AUC library, but I can�t find it now. (Oh, wait, here it is.) But, just to rehash, I�d seen this boy around back in the fall, and at first thought he was a tool, but then eventually started to notice that he was pretty cute. Then, many months ago (like back in December) I decided that I was never going to really do anything about this guy and gave up.


Well, two weeks ago in a burst of...something (energy? Horniness? Boredom? Something?) I decided that I was going to visit that bar where he supposedly works until he started noticing me. I enlisted Di to come with me so I would not have to sit and drink alone. We went on a Friday night. He was not there. We theorized that maybe he doesn�t work on Fridays, but rather chooses to work during the week so as not to waste his weekend. I told Di that my brother (who was in on this whole thing back in December) had definitely told me that he had seem Fred working there on a Wednesday night, which made sense to me (Wednesday nights here are like Thursday nights back in Philly, a good weekday party night). So, Di and I figured we�d just go back the next week on Wednesday (so, last Wednesday) and try our luck. Luckily, that Tuesday (last Tuesday), PG invited me to some opening for an art exhibit. We went, we got bored, and since we were in the same area of Cairo where Fred�s bar is, PG decided to humor me, ditch the art opening, and come with me to the bar instead for an hour. We got there�completely empty. No bartender even. When the bartender did eventually show up, it was not my boy. In any case, PG and I had a drink and left, and I kept my hopes up for the next night with Di.


The next night, turned out to be great, but not because Fred was tending bar that night. Di and I had an absolutely wonderfully silly time at the bar (involving dancing paper napkins and trips down memory lane), but Fred, again, was not there. And after that I just figured that I�m gonna give up on him. I realize that there are four other nights of the week during which Fred might be tending bar, but I already feel like enough of a loser about the stalking I�ve done thus far, and I really don�t know what I�ll say or do if he does actually end up being there.


Also, I haven�t seen him at all at his usual AUC haunt. In fact, I haven�t seen him AT ALL in the past three months, even though back in the fall I used to see him everywhere randomly (practically every time I went to AUC, a couple of times at the US Embassy, and once randomly on the street) which makes me wonder�was Fred killed in a freak granola accident? Did he drown in the deluge of an over-zealous bulk bin? Or is he, contrary to Teej�s assurances otherwise just last week, no longer in Egypt?

I just don't know.

go west + go east