newgyptian
newgyptian

Stream
March 24, 2005


No. more. Work. I surrender�this will be the second weekend a row that I�m working. Boohoo.
But I�m good, and I�m realizing I�m happy here (shout out to Hany, aka Eyeore, who wrote me a while ago and said that after having read through the diary he had two pieces of advice for me�get the hell out of Cairo, and talk more about him).
But the other day I had the realization: I don�t know that I want to leave. I mean, I don�t know that I want to stay either, but I have nowhere else I really want to be. Philadelphia will always own my heart�there truly is no city I love more in the world�but then again I�ve been there, done that. There�s no real need to rush back, except to be with my beloved friends, and they seem to be leaving the city one by one as well.
So.
Quick change.
I finally saw Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind last night. Ever since that movie came out people have been telling me to see it, saying that I especially would love it. So I finally borrowed it off of Mini last week, and last night finally had some time to watch it.
It was good. I liked it a lot, and thought it was very interesting both in structure and in content. But, I�m wondering what it is about that movie that made so many people I know make a point of telling me I had to see it.
Hmm.
It does amaze me that I can still feel the heartache of ever heart-breaking breakup I�ve ever had (yeah, all three? of them) almost as fresh as when they first happened. Anyway, that�s what seeing that movie made me think of�how hard it is to leave or be left by your love. How you never really forget the feeling of having your heart broken-it will resurface as fresh as if it were yesterday anytime you have reason to remember it-even if you've moved on. And how, it seems, that no matter what you do, you will end up falling in love with the person you fall in love with. Sometimes more than once.

Know what I�m saying?

go west + go east