newgyptian
newgyptian

2005: The year everything and nothing happened
December 31, 2005

I have nothing funny or interesting to say about 2005. It reminds me of 1997, the first year I dubbed the year "everything and nothing happened". That year I fell in love HARD for the first time. And because every action has an equal and opposite reaction, I also got my heart broken HARD that year. I had a lot of other important things happen to me that year, but when I looked back at it all, it just doesn't seem all that BIG anymore. Even political and world events from that year seemed kind of lackluster as far as I remember.

And the same kind of goes for 2005. I mean, I FUCKING FINALLY MADE IT TO IRELAND, and while I had a great time, you want to know what I feel most when I look back at my visit to Ireland? Relief. Relief that I no longer have the burden of that inexplicable dream. I've been there. It was great. I'm happy I did it. But I have kind of always thought that dreams are silly things, good for nothing more than wasting a bit of time, and I'm happy I don't have any major ones left to fulfill. And, well, you guys know some of the other things that happened in 2005, and they were exciting at the time, but looking back it's all kind of "eh". Shrug. It's not that 1997 was bad, and it's not that 2005 was bad either. In fact, 2005 is probably the year in which I have been the most consistenly happy I have ever been in my life. But the thing is...it just doesn't seem like a big deal.

So, here's what I'm going to do for 2006. I'm going to make some resolutions. As some of you may recall, I never make resolutions. I generally think they're dumb because I figure if you really want to do something you shouldn't have to wait for some date to start doing it. But, it so happens that as 2005 ends I have started to really hit upon some things that I want to start trying to do. New Year's just happens to coincide. So here they are:

-Watch less television (I "improved" in 2005, but I could spend less time rewatching things I've already seen)

-Get out a lot and do different things (as opposed to getting out a lot and doing the same things like I did this past year)

-Get to the gym more regularly, or maybe even join a sports team? (Hmmm....)

And here's the big one:
-Stop dwelling on things so much. Stop focusing on the details. See the bigger picture, and let things go.

I wish you all a happy and healthy new year!
*confetti* *balloons* *kazoo*

go west + go east