newgyptian
newgyptian

Possibly NSFW*
August 04, 2005

First off, I have a query. How can a girl be sure she is being checked out? This morning I went to the AUC to take care of some stuff, and stopped by the bookstore on my way out like I usually do. This stop is usually *mostly* about checking out books, but is also a little bit about checking out the new crop of [male] Arabic language students. So as I was walking into the bookstore I walked past this pretty good-looking guy [dressed up in gray trousers and a blue shirt, with a messenger bag, dark hair, blue eyes], and we made eye contact. But he was walking out so I didn�t think much of it.
A couple of minutes later, while I�m salivating over the new, huge Anthology of Modern Arabic Literature compiled by Salma Jayyusi [um, if anyone is still, I don�t know, looking to buy me a birthday present, this $60 tome would be the PERFECT gift], the cute guy walks back in, ostensibly looking for something he forgot to look for before. [He was like, really loudly asking about a certain book. Yeah, his voice is kind of unattractive.] ANYWAY, he starts wandering around the bookstore, and ends up across the table where I�m still browsing the anthology. So I look up and he�s looking right at me, and he gives me this big smile. Of course, what do I do? I quickly look away, shut the book, and walk off. [Constant harassment on the Cairo streets has made me really jumpy/mistrustful of any male attention.] So I am now absent-mindedly browsing some books on art, and again the cute guy makes his way over to my part of the bookstore, still sort of muttering to himself, but then we make eye contact again, and this time he says something and half smiles, but then acts like he�s�just talking to himself? I mean, it really looked like he was trying to find some sort of icebreaker. I guess I could have said something, but it was early, my mind was just not on, and, hey, it�s been a while.
But he was totally checking me out, right?
Anyway, I had to get going, and he ended up walking out of the bookstore a few seconds before I did. *Shrug* It�s nice to know that my newly-purchased, fuchsia peasant blouse which does not cover much in the front or the back when I bend over, is having the desired effect. Haha.
Oh, I had something philosophical to write today, but this entry�s already too long. So one last remark and then I�m off�as much as I admire the talent of the young Joss Stone, what is up with that �Don�t Cha Wanna Ride� song of hers? Sample lyrics: �A car this fine don�t pass your way every day/ Don�t cha wanna ride, baby?�
Um�and as if *that* isn�t bad enough, I give you the chorus:
I know you got the Hummer for the summer, baby
But I got your number, baby
I got your number, baby
I know where you live
I know all 'bout your crib
But do you know that they can't give you what I give?

But�Joss�he already GOT the hummer. What more do you think he wants?


*That's for you, Greg

go west + go east