newgyptian
newgyptian

More art therapy
August 02, 2005

Woo! So I burst into tears at work in the middle of the day yesterday, right before someone walked into my office (ohmygod I was so embarrassed), but he didn�t notice. I�m just glad no one else happened to be around.

Seriously, I just started crying for no reason really. And, dudes, this is like the one week in the month where I can't blame it on something hormonal.

I was fine two seconds later. I was even better later on in the day when I went to art therapy. Yay! So I went and I just wanted to do something really soothing, and I did. And it was. I love Dr. M, the adorable, Falkor-voiced psychologist who runs the sessions. And, by the way, people have asked me about this - the sessions are free. It's something Dr. M does to complement his practice.

Anyway, some pictures from last week and this week:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This is the building where the sessions are held, on the right-hand rooftop. I tried to draw an arrow pointing to the exact spot, but my photoshop skills are sub, sub par. Anyway, I love the old French-style buildings downtown.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This is the very first picture I painted last week. I started off in the top left corner just wanting to play with the purple. Somehow it turned into a child�s drawing of a tree.


Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This was the second painting I did. I started off with that bird�s head in the bottom right corner, and got bored and did some swirlies. I actually like the way it turned out. The swirlies look like people embracing, no?


Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This is the final painting I did in the first session. Hoda and I decided we wanted to finger paint, and this is what I ended up with. Dr. M said, �Yeah, see? You�re finally letting go, and getting comfortable. That�s why it�s so violent.� Hahaha. So, apparently, if I feel comfortable around you I may end up hurting you. Beware.


And this is the only painting I did yesterday:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I started off just wanting to play with color and lines in the top left corner. But when I was done Dr. M said, �Do you see what you�ve done? Do you see?� And I kept looking at it and I didn�t see what he was so excited about. And I was all, �Oh, I�m setting all these boundaries?� (Because last week he was all, "you live freely within boundaries.") And he said, �No! You�ve painted a house! Under the sun! With a yard!� And so I saw that indeed I had. And he said, �But it�s a one room house. Do you live there all by yourself?�

I don�t know, do I?

Jing, who got a sneak preview of the pics, said that the intention behind my paintings is clear. Is it? Feel free to humor me with your interpretations.

Afterwards Hoda and I went out for coffee, and made plans to go to Italy in December. We�ll see if that works out.

Ok, hopefully more pictures, less patheticness next week.

go west + go east