newgyptian
newgyptian

Give me some LOVAHing
August 07, 2005


For about a year in the mid-80s�when we were living in Bahrain the second time�my parents truly lived up the international banking lifestyle. They bought collector�s art and 100% pure silk Persian rugs; they were friends with the Bahrain international elite; they had and attended cocktail parties almost every week, where they hobnobbed with hoteliers, ambassadors, political figures, and the plainly, filthy rich; my dad even ended up in an ad in Newsweek once. I�m telling you�it was all very Knots Landing.
My mother�a sociable, but also highly academic, and serious woman (hello, Capricorn), who was one of the few women in her �circle� who had a job�had a shtick she employed to amuse the ladies of leisure at their Friday morning coffee hours, when she couldn�t stand to hear them talk anymore about their husbands' latest deals or purchases�she did their charts.
She doesn�t remember how it started, but somewhere between private French lessons, and supervising the construction of the Crown Prince�s marital palace just 10 minutes from the King Fahd causeway, my mother began studying Chinese astrology. Word got around about Bahrain�s own Ms. Cleo(patra), and she found people accosting her at social events, giving her their information, and asking her to do their charts.
Just like I did to Rudy, after reading about The Book of Lovahs. I am a little skeptical, a little amused by, and very much interested in the whole astrology thing. On the one hand, I think I should know better, on the other, I can�t help but see some truth in what astrology has to say about general personalities(about the day-to-day predictions I say, �Meh.�) My mother, a mathematician at heart, used to like to say, �In the end, it all comes down to statistics.�

So anyway, here is what Rudy sent back to me after I gave him the pertinent info:
You are a Gemini with a Leo moon�
Here's some of the basics about the Gemini-Leo woman according to THE BOOK OF LOVAHS:
Very sociable, in touch with current events, gossip, and office politics, NOT a wallflower, attractive, appearance conscious, compelling, commanding, strong desire for strong, lasting love relationship, wants a devoted husband and children, wants to re-explore the wonders of childhood with her children, curious, resourceful, exciting in life approach, loves to study but in her own fashion and time, very intelligent, fully capable in sales, the arts, writing, is busy, exciting, talented, and diligent as a coworker, the sky's the limit for her, people in authority want her advice, a live wire, interested in getting the best out of life, needs a daring, sociable partner who is her match and as outgoing as she is, look for Sagittarius, Leo, Gemini, or Aries moons, Sagittarius suns.

I�m so glad I didn�t turn out to be one of the Gemini Sagittarians that Rudy might not get along with. I don�t know about the �NOT a wallflower� part, or the �wants a devoted husband� bit, or about being �exciting and talented� (not fishing), but I think I can live with being a Gemini with a Leo moon.

And speaking of Leos�Happy Birthday to Dolo (a Leo with a Scorpio moon), whose birthday was yesterday.

go west + go east