newgyptian
newgyptian

This one goes out to the one I love (you know who you are)
February 15, 2005

I meant to post this yesterday�a much longer version that had a list of all the boys I�ve ever loved. But then it got too personal and I decided not to post it. So, now I�m going to post the first part, and add the details of what I did last night on what turned out to be a surprisingly lovely yet simple Valentine�s Day.

*****

Ah, Valentine�s Day. So many people either make a big deal out of this event or make a big deal out of not making a big deal. Personally, with the exception of one V-Day where I received one of those gold, plastic, Chinese good luck kitties with a waving mechanical arm, a copy of Dostoevsky�s ever-uplifting Poor Folk , and a durian fruit, I have always been just broken up with someone or on the verge of getting with someone around this time, and therefore not celebrating it with someone special. Though there was that one year where Lady Di and I bought each other and her roommate flowers. That was nice. (Sarcastic comments about the one real Valentine�s Day gift aside, it was a pretty nice night, even if I was the one giving the flowers and making the dinner.) Anyway, I pretty much feel the same way about Valentine�s Day like I do about Christmas and Easter�I don�t really celebrate them, but hell, you can get some really good candy out of it.
So, Happy Valentine�s Day y�all. If you have any extra candy hearts lying around, feel free to send them my way.

******
So, PG and I had arranged to meet for dinner last night with other people, though I didn�t get that it was supposed to be just for us singletons on Valentine�s Day. He was recently spurned by a girl that he�s been pursuing for weeks, and thought it would be nice if a group of us lonely hearts went to dinner at the Italian Club. Though we made plans to do this over the weekend, I didn�t understand until we were actually at dinner last night the reason behind it.
I also, happily, ended up meeting with Lady Di downtown at the last minute. I got home from work, hopped in the shower, and got out to get a call from her saying that she was sitting in the formerly favorite hangout of Egyptian communists downtown. Since there was a couple hours before I was supposed to meet with Mini, PG, and Smin for dinner, and I don�t see Lady Di enough, I decided to go meet her. So, I got there, I met a couple of new people who seemed nice enough, and chatted with Di�it was nice to just be in that relaxing environment.
PG ended up meeting up with me there, looking very very English (ie�stood out in the caf�, all obviously European, and looking like he hadn�t showered in days.) Heh. Anyway, we waited at the caf� for Smin to give us a call as she was supposed to pick us up because neither PG nor I had any idea how to get to the Italian Club. She was on a mission to convince Mini that she wanted to come out to dinner with us, but Mini just wasn�t up for it. Anyway, Smin ended up getting downtown about half an hour after our set dinner time, but she came bearing gifts. Mini had sent a rose for me along with her (awww!), and Smin herself had shed some blood, sweat, and tears (literally, she cut herself something nasty) and baked us some brownies and cinnamon rolls.
Though it�s a popular summer hangout, I�d never been to the Italian club. It�s in a more shady, noisy part of downtown, and you have to go through a mysterious-looking gate to get in, but once inside it�s really nice. The noise suddenly drops off and you�re transported into this Italian villa type garden. The restaurant inside has the cheesy/requisite red-checkered table cloths. The main course was not that great, but the antipasti were really yummy. It was also really nice to just hang out with Smin and PG�a trio we usually don�t do just because we were all initially friends of Mini and so I think it feels weird to hang out without her. Though I really miss Mini these days since I haven�t spoken to her in a few days, and I haven�t actually seen her in almost three weeks.
Anyway, the conversation was good and I got a pretty red rose and some yummy baked treats out of it. Not too bad for a day I expected absolutely nothing out of.

Hope you all had equally nice days.

go west + go east