newgyptian
newgyptian

Longing
February 16, 2005


Two days ago it was 4 degrees Celsius and it hailed, but this morning I walked out of my building and it was at least 70 degrees out. Mind you, I was wearing a wool sweater, a jacket, and a scarf.
Anyway, this kind of weather always makes me really�nostalgic, but it�s an odd nostalgia, because it takes the form of a nostalgi...for the future. These days make me think about all that I could be living, and how happy I will be when I�m living that. It�s not at all that I�m miserable now, but sitting in my office with the window open and a light breeze blowing in, I suddenly find myself wanting to be in New York City (of all places; have I mentioned that I don�t really like NYC?). I also find myself wishing I were a Latina, but that is neither here, there, or possible. I keep having these Mary Tyler Moore-ish montages�except set in New York, and I'm feeling a very ood mixture of hope and pain.
Of course, I am also feeling real nostalgia. I think I�ve often mentioned how certain weather reminds me of spring in Kuwait, which was always the most wonderful two weeks of the year. But, now that I�m also becoming more and more far-removed from that time in my life, I�m remembering the springs of my early college years. I keep thinking back to this one day during my freshman year when I finally got up the courage to ask the DJ out. Aside from the weather itself, there was something about that day that was so...perfect. Maybe it was the slightly stunned, amused, and intrigued look on the DJs face when I walked into his dorm room, decked out in pretty early spring wear, and asked him if he wanted to hang out.

Anyway...I could go on, but instead I�ll just leave you all with what I think is one of the funniest posts made on Go Fug Yourself to date.

Hoot!

go west + go east