newgyptian
newgyptian

The one with all the pictures :: Part Deux
December 11, 2004

Ok...I'm kind of disappointed. I was all excited to start taking pictures for you guys, and so few of you came through. Well, at least now, I KNOW WHO CARES. Just kidding! BFF!

So, the lack of requests kind of allowed me to go overboard with the few requests I did get, and to also get it done in a timely manner. Anyway, without further ado and in the order I read them:


BK asked for a picture of BABA, ie my Dad. Well, I'm uncomfortable posting pics of myself let alone family members who have no idea this diary exists. On the other hand, I have a picture of my dad from his early years in the US that is just too priceless not to share. So, here ya go...my Dad, 70s Brooklyn icon:



Yibba requested a phote of my home's front door. Well, we live in an apartment, and I actually think our front door is the ugliest thing about our apartment. But a request is a request, and beggars can't be choosers. So:



She also asked for a shot of the computer screen while I read her request. How meta. This is a picture as I read the comment while at work:

Philly Fan, aside from wanting a boob-shot which she wisely realized was not gonna happen :-p asked for a picture of the books that I'm reading for fun now. Which is funny because on Thursday I went to the library to look for all those books I'd promised myself I'd read when I was done, and they weren't there! Or, as in the case of Umberto Eco's Name of the Rose, the first 30 pages were missing. Grrr. What did I come away with? James Joyces's Ulysses (um, not exactly fun, FUN reading, is it?) and Sobriety and Mirth which is a great translation of some of al-Jahiz's less...common work. Even though I discovered it while writing my Arabic lit comprehensive, I found it highly entertaining. There will probably be a whole other entry devoted to it. Anyway. I have also been reading Ala al-Aswany's Yacoubian Building. Anyway, a picture of those books:

And, just because I took these pictures when I was in the midst of paper writing, here is a picture of one of the stacks of the books I will never have to look at again unless I want to:



>

Infinityfye asked to see a picture of the place that annoys me the most. I give you a picture of the Cairo streets(it's actually not very good, but the only one I could get):





It doesn't quite capture the smog, the traffic, and certainly not the noise. But...going outside sadly tends to cause me a good deal of stress.

He then asked to see the place that makes me happiest. Well, in a general sense I love being in the desert, at the ocean, on the Nile, or in my cozy bedroom. So here you go:

But, in all honesty (sadly), I am just as happy (ok, if not MORE happy) sitting in front of our huge-ass television watching American Dreams:




There you have it folks. If after seeing this you decide you want to make a request, feel free (Philly Fan...I just saw your request for a picture out of my window...I'll try to get one later). It was fun to break out my camera and my (extremely, extremely) limited techie skills. Forgive the awkward formatting. When I tried to get fancy, my template went wacko. Thanks Jing for explaining a few things to me. Too bad you can't actualy see the pics.

go west + go east