newgyptian
newgyptian

Bump, grind, etc. Repeat
December 01, 2004

(Actually written yesterday)


Oh my god. I�m listening to my favorite (okay, the only fully) English radio station in Egypt, and my favorite show, the Fl@shback C@f� is on, and they are interviewing a band called Circus Guy. The two brothers in the band are Iraqi-Irish-American. Excuse me; let me wipe that off the screen. My head just exploded. As my friend Laksh once pointed out all the coolest countries begin with "I"�Iraq, Ireland, Iceland, India, Italy, Igypt. Yeah, shut up. My point is? Two out of three ain't bad. (Sorry, Imerica? I don't think so.)

Anyway, yay! They are playing a concert in Cairo on December 7th and the 8th. Wowee! I'm such a loser. They are playing one of their songs now. Hmm�they're alright. They have that vaguely 50's-ish, laid back, tongue-in-cheek sound. Like a mix between Cake and the Beautiful South (uh, I think that last bit is only cause of the female back-up singer's voice?)

So today's entry is going to be vaguely about music. Yeah.
First of all, condolences to Ms. Dolo�George Harrison was indeed the coolest Beatle. Did I ever tell you that when I was in London last January (during which you posted your brilliant letter to Dhani) I kept walking around thinking, "Hmm�If I see Dhani (because that is likely to happen) I will give him the URL to Dolo's site, so he can
know that you two are destined for each other." Seriously, that was one of the best posts ever. Along with that letter to Pepperidge Farm . Yeah. Anyway�perhaps this will cheer you up on this mournful day. It�s like it was made just for you. ;-)

So, music. Sort of. I have a shameful admission (as always)�I am a fan of the British boy band, Blue. The first time I heard about these guys was two Decembers ago (wow! It�s been that long?) I was back here for the winter break and my brother had this mixed CD he played incessantly, and it was actually pretty good�a mix of hip hop, rap, and top 40. Okay, so it was as good as a mixed CD composed of those elements can be. Anyway, the CD had the Blue song �One Love� on it, and my brother was fond of lip-synching along to the song. He even had quite the funny little routine to go with it. Anyway, so Blue aside from being something that I associate with my brother and therefore automatically love (I�m a sucker for my brother, yo), have songs that are also kind of catchy. This newfound love for them has been aided by my discovery that I can listen to the radio on my mobile phone, so I�m more up-to-date than ever on today�s Top 40. I am currently hooked on Blue�s �Curtain Falls� which is totally derivative and typical of the �genre�, yet I love it still. There is something particularly, sincerely earnest about these guys too. And, yeah, they�re hot and British. (All the really great boy bands are British anyway�from the Beatles to the Pet Shop Boys to Boyzone, East 17, and Robbie Williams�s launching pad, Take That.)

So, wow, I just tripped out big time on memory lane...
You know, I always imagined I�d be one of those cool adults that would be down with whatever the music of the time is. My kids and I would ostensibly like going to concerts together. But, I am realizing now that being one of those earnest adolescents of the nineties I have a hard time taking a lot of today�s (teen pop) music seriously, which is not to say I don�t enjoy it. It�s just, I feel like it�s just not very original and appeals to the most superficial level of intellect and emotion. For example, every time Linkin Park comes on the radio I find myself rolling my eyes while also rocking my head. Whenever Evanescence rolls around on the rotation I close my eyes and sway to the music, while smirking about all the Goth kids probably sitting somewhere being DARK. Aside from this diary, I will only hesitantly admit that I have downloaded and repeatedly played Avril, or that Ashlee Simpson makes me want to La La.

(AH! "Curtain Falls" just came on the radio AGAIN. Love my lovely Top 40)


Together we faced the cold outside
No one can say we didn't try
And I will never give you up or let you go
Together we faced our final fears
Remember the moments that we shared
That's why I'll never give you up or let you go

[All]
We'll be ready when the curtain might fall
Feel my heart beating when the crowd calls
I gotta read between the lines
Cuz I'm living out the script of my life
Cuz we all got a part we must play
And I've done it but I've done it my way

Okay, time to get back to work, and get ready for the more respectable Fl@shback C@f� show hosted by Lou (who I have been shamelessly flirting with via text message. In case anyone was wondering, telling the DJ that he has a "great laugh" and that you "love [his] show" will get you a shout out on the airwaves. Guaranteed.)

Alright, as you were.

go west + go east