newgyptian
newgyptian

Huh.
August 18, 2004

So I finally made it to the dentist today. I waited only 15 minutes in the lobby before I was allowed in which is fantastic for Egypt.

I went in. I told him my jaw has been sore for about two months, but really bad the past two weeks, and I told him I'd removed all my widsom teeth save one and it was on the side of my jaw that was most sore. He took a look in my mouth, clicked his tongue a few times walked away from me and came back with a huge fucking syringe.

I asked him what he thought he was doing, and he told me that he was going to remove my wisdom tooth. It was very crooked and was almost definitely what was causing me the pain.

huh. I always thought they had to walk you through wisdom tooth removal. I sure as hell hadn't planned on having it removed when I went.

Anyway, I had to wait a bit for the local anesthetic to set in, and then he brought out this flat head screw driver type contraption. The worst part of the extraction was the sounds of my tooth enamel creaking against the screw driver.

My tooth was out in seconds, root twisted at a right angle.

Nasty little fucker.

huh. huh.

It takes forever and a day to get most things done here, but tooth extraction is apparently not one of those things. I still have a wad of cotton in my mouth and I'm really hungry.

Of all the days to skip breakfast and lunch.

go west + go east