newgyptian
newgyptian

Welcome to the fathouse
May 06, 2004

After having read the sequel to the Bridget Jones Diary last weekend, I decided to go back and read the original since I'd only seen the movie and not actually read it before. That is often the way with me, as I seem to do things better backwards. I read magazines and newspapers backwards; when I learned to ice skate, I was much better going backwards than forwards; I often sleep on the bed "backwards" (much to the annoyance of a certain BK). In any case, you get the point, except it isn't really the point of this entry at all. No, the point is that even though Bridget Jones frustrates the hell out of me, I find her amusing and will now continue with this diary in manner of Bridget, by providing weight and calorie intake at the beginning of each entry. Though weight will be in KG and not stone.

So...

86.6 KG (don't choke, it's sadly true), Calories ~ 700 (v.g.), cigarettes - 0, units alcohol - 0(hope to remedy this as soon as possible)

After many years of thinking it silly, I finally went to a dietician two days ago with my mother. Nearly two years ago I gained about 10-12 KG in one month flat (I am an achiever!) and have not been able to lose the weight since, despite having tried a diet or two and also taking up in the past two months a fairly regular exercise regimen. Now, I know my friend, Notorious RRZ, is probably shaking his head in disapproval at this whole diet thing, but I am determined to lose the weight. Not, mind you, because I feel bad about myself. In fact, for the first time in my life I am truly accepting and okay with the way I look, unlike when I was of perfect weight, height and fitness in high school, and yet was often going on crash diets. No, I am doing this diet for my own physical well-being, as I am not getting any younger, and my joints are getting achy in manner of arthritic grandmother and I am sure the added weight is not helping in that area at all. Also, I have never had a problem losing weight before, but now I can't even seem to get down a proper 2 or 3 KG, so I figured it was time to see a doctor and make sure that that ring around my stomach isn't a sign of larger problems (i.e. - diabetes. EEK!)

So, the trip to the dietician actually ended up being a very positive experience in the most horrifying kind of way. We had to wait for a very long time in the waiting room as it seems that all of Cairo goes to the same doctor. Now, here is the beginning of the horrifying part. Whenever I am in a room with a lot of women I immediately, though for the most part subconsciously, look around to see if I am the biggest, or one of the biggest ones in the room. (Don't look at me like that, I know girls who do this all the time). So, eventually, after about a half hour of sitting around waiting it struck me to take my nose out of the book I was reading (BJD, of course) and see what the "competition" looked like. As it turns out I was, in fact, the thinnest, youngest, and if I do say so myself, most attractive one in the waiting room. Of course, I was immediately horrified (but also amused) by the realization of what I was doing.

Anyway, the visit went well. I was not made to feel like a whale, and now feel very hopeful about success of this diet. After trying out the other high-protein, fad diets of late (which, admittedly, actually make a lot of sense to me) the doctor has put me on a classic low-fat diet. And in the two short days I've been following it, it actually seems to be working. Am feeling lighter and healthier already.

I will not spend the rest of my days obsessing about this diet and my weight, but rest assured there wil be updates about it.

And now that I've fulfilled my girlie quota for the day, I will go hide myself in shame.

go west + go east