newgyptian
newgyptian

DAMN, son
May 03, 2004

Allow me to gush for a few minutes�

So, I�m just watching some random, old Arabic movie with my mum featuring a rather young Omar Sherif in it. mm. Mm. MMM. While I know that women (and some men) around the world swoon at the sight of Omar Sherif, any age, I have to say up front that I have a very specific Omar Sherif that I like, and that is the very young, pre-international fame Omar Sherif. I�m not too keen on the Lawrence of Arabia/Doctor Zhivago era Omar [i.e. - medium Omar], or the older, Sidney Sheldon-trashy-romances-turned-TV-movies Omar either [i.e. � well-aged-but-still-no-cigar Omar]. The young Omar had raw sex appeal, but the body and the face of a young, earnest innocent. He was not brash and rebellious like the young Brando, nor was he just a pretty boy. Young Omar was fresh and well-sculpted with dewy, soulful eyes and was often cast in roles where he played the underdog, fighting against the evil upper classes to win the heart of the aristocratic yet down to earth daughter of his father�s employer. Or something like that. [I can only think of one instance in the Young Omar�s career where he was the naughty, filthy rich playboy, and then he was playing opposite my number one Egyptian cinematic love, Ahmed Mazhar. *SWOON*] Whatever the case though, Young Omar almost always played the role well, and he never failed to make my heart skip a beat.

And now, he really needs to put his shirt back on [yes, the movie is still playing].

go west + go east