newgyptian
newgyptian

I don't know why you say goodbye I say hello
August 06, 2006

My brother returned from two months spent in New York at a successful and apparently lucrative internship. Three hours after arriving, at 4 a.m, I had to haul my ass off the couch where I�d fallen asleep and take him to the airport AGAIN. He had decided to immediately blow all the money he�d made over the summer and join his friends who are currently partying it up in Cyprus. I have to say, my brother definitely knows how to live it up. He also apparently knows how to dress. He seems to have inherited all the stylish ands trend-loving genes in the family, and along with newfound confidence in his abilities to survive in the world of finance, my brother also brought back from New Yrok a killer metrosexual wardrobe. Observe:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Perfectly distressed Diesel jeans, some designer t-shirt, and a tweedy blazer of the kind any one of The Strokes might envy. What you cannot see in this photo are the soft-soled taupe moccasins he has on his feet. Also, the boxers his girlfriend bought him which say, �Call me: 212-blahblahb� (some NYC phone number). I do not think she realized that she probably does not want my brother actually wearing those boxers for their apparently intended purpose.

Anyway, it was good to have him back even for a couple of hours. Life has been stressful lately, and my little bro both adds to and detracts from that stress, but he definitely makes life a lot less dull.

It was also great to be driving home from the airport at 5 a.m., something I do not think I�ve ever done by myself before. Cairo, as with many cities, is at its best in the wee hours of the morning. The streets are clear and quiet, and the drive which at any other time past 8 a.m. would take 45 minutes to an hour took only 15 minutes. For most of that time I felt like I was the only person awake in the entire city, certainly the only woman out and about.

I considered driving around and/or just going home and staying awake until I had to go to work four hours later, but in the end laziness and fatigue prevailed, and I drifted off to sleep as the sun rose and a woman in the building across from mine threw open her windows to air out the rugs.

go west + go east