newgyptian
newgyptian

Work it
June 08, 2006

When PG first moved to Cairo and started hanging out with Mini and her crowd, he dubbed us the �90210� crew. It was summer, and practically every weekend some or all of us were heading up to the North Coast in our beemers, benzes, or limited edition Jeep Cherokees for two-day benders. During the week in Cairo we�d often end up at a shishi club called Latex, where a whiskey coke costs 80 pounds (that�s $12). (Luckily for the women there was often a guy picking up the tab.) The irony of it is that being the son of a Greek shipping heir (well, not quite, but almost), PG is more 90210 than we�ll ever be. He spends his winters skiing in the Alps, and the summers jetting between the Greek islands, and Cambridge, where his mother lives.

In any case, we�ve mellowed out a great deal since that long ago summer, more often opting for shisha and dinner at our favorite place in Zamalek.

But the 90210 king to Mini�s queen (or the Brandon to her Brenda)�our friend Mo who was the year above us in high school�has decided to start up a promotions company, and last night was his first big event. He flew in the resident DJ at a club in London and had a big party back at good old Latex. None of us were really up for it, but we all came out to support him, as it�s rare that Mo�a man with great potential, but little stamina�actually gets off his carefully-sculpted-at-Gold�s-gym ass and does what he says he will.

So I stressed over what to wear, as it�s been a while since I�ve had to dress up for any event. Luckily, I remembered I had my new fancy shoes that I bought for the wedding, and paired that with a gauzy, black top. I didn�t have a suitable purse to take though, but my brother and his girlfriend came through for me. My brother�s lady is a very trendy young woman, and when my brother went to her house to bring me back one black purse, he came back instead with three black purses of varying sizes and styles, black and white pearls, and one pair of black dangly earrings, and one pair of large white hoop earrings. I opted for the sparkly clutch, and the dangly earrings (note my use of technical fashion terminology) and I was off.

The night went pretty much as expected, with us sitting around at the �VIP� table drinking and smoking way too much. I ended up leaving before the DJ even came on, but not before I gave some guy my number. He�s a northern California boy whose style and look is reminiscent of Aidan on Sex and the City (though not as pretty, but the same longish hair, and large stature), and he�s here for the summer studying Arabic before he heads back to Philly to start his masters/MBA program at Penn. (Small world, eh?) I hope you don�t mind, Greg, but I offered to let him tag along with us if we go to Alexandria for the day while you�re here.

I guess the earrings, shoes, and clutch paid off.

go west + go east