newgyptian
newgyptian

Step AWAY from the keyboard
October 25, 2005

People, I think I need help, and a serious intervention...

These are the sorts of things that have been appearing in my inbox lately:

I'm really enjoying these emails by the way. I actually look forward
to them and sometimes wait anxiously while checking to see if my inbox
has anything new.

Or,

Anyways...
Take care...and I'm waiting anxiously for your next email.

Which strongly echo things I heard here from another fella exactly six months ago.

In my defense, I have to say that in both cases I did NOT initiate contact, and I did NOT initiate the bearing of souls and outpouring of emotion that seem to come in the body of these emails. I just responded, and in responding apparently opened up a can of worms.

Except, unlike with JIM I actually KNOW this new email friend. I went to school with him for six years, and I had a crush on him for six months. But other than being the girl who sat behind him in Algebra class who would on ocassion nervously ask him for an eraser or a pencil (then spend the rest of class replaying his response in my head, or fantasizing about winding my fingers in his soft, black curls, or studying the curve of his unnaturally long spine) I thought he had no idea I even existed.

Until one day a mysterious friendster message appeared in my inbox, and the emailing began.

Of course, all this had to happen just a few months AFTER he moved away from Cairo indefinitely.

Damn you, Friendster. Damn you and my charming virtual persona.

go west + go east