newgyptian
newgyptian

A brief interlude...
April 24, 2005

Dear Diary,
I have been neglecting you. I was planning to put updates about my trip to Sharm every two days, but then, dear, dear, online diary, I made another virtual friend, and he is taking up all my time. When I�m not doing work, I�m writing to him or reading his emails to me, and for that I am sorry.
A couple of times I have even sat down and thought that maybe I should write an entry for you, explaining what is going on, but each time I tried to do so, I just didn�t know where to begin. Also, I just wasn't really sure if I wanted to talk about this at all, here. But here I am...
In the past week (actually less) I have exchanged over 35 emails with this boy. And these are not skimpy emails. These are honest, open, exploratory, tell-all, long-ass emails, and even though I was pretty hesitant when he initiated contact, I can�t say I�m not into it now. (Well, obviously. I�m writing this entry, aren�t I? AND I�m writing back.) I actually promised myself I wouldn�t post about it here, or really tell anyone about it because the whole situation is just kind of bizarre to me. But I figure in another week this...correspondence will have petered out, and I might as well record it here while it�s still fresh.
"JIM" (his initials) recently started posting to the same newsgroup that I post to that I�ve mentioned here before. Our correspondence began as a joke, because I�d made some comments about how he should stop posting as me�our thoughts on so many random things seemed to be so similar. After a couple of on-the-side emails regarding things said on the newsgroup, he found me on friendster, and initiated more serious, personal email contact. When the first long email came, he told me to "take my time replying," saying that he would understand because he is a bad correspondent. But when I replied immediately with an equally long email he pretty much responded immediately too, and it has been spiraling out of control from there ever since.
The day after I mentioned that I hated the lack of open spaces in Cairo, he sent me pictures of wide open spaces from the Denali National Park that his friend had sent him. We are already talking about how sad we�re going to be when he leaves the world behind to join this friend on a three-month-long bike trip on the West Coast, riding from Arizona to Alaska. But he promises to send me letters from the road.
And now, he�s talking about maybe coming to visit me on his way home from India (his family is from Kerala!) in November. This is so bizarre, and so fun.

Also, I�m convinced that he is Ms. Dolo�s Hot Gym Guy , because I vaguely remember her describing Hot Gym Guy as desi-looking, with big hair, and a nose ring. Yes? No? Am I thinking of someone else?

Anyway, dear diary at diaryland, I just thought you should know why my head is all up in the clouds these days, and why my timing and writing are just off.

Tomorrow I will be back with some of my regularly scheduled programming, but today I am just a silly girl, riding on a wave of giddiness.

XOXO,
Newgy

Update: I just received this from JIM, and it's making me laugh and laugh: You know i'm just sitting here waiting for a reply right? Oh man. This is too much fun.

go west + go east