newgyptian
newgyptian

seeing red
September 08, 2005

A week from today I should, inshallah, be touching down in Dublin. I am, surprisingly, not very excited. Either my anticipation for the moment has dampened over the past few months that I�ve known I�d be taking this trip, or�more likely�it hasn�t sunk in yet, and probably won�t until I�m halfway through my trip. Hmm. I mean, I am definitely looking forward to it, but it�s more a general, �Yay! I haven�t been out of North Africa in a year and seven months!� and not a �Ohmyfreakinggod, I�m going to Ireland!� In any case, I have a lot of shit to take care of before I leave, and I�m actually getting kind of sad that I won�t be seeing the people I love for 3 weeks. Totally unlike me.

So, after the gym this morning I dyed my hair. I�m not terribly happy with the color. I always want to go lighter, and this went darker even though that�s not what the box and Clairol�s color chart told me it would do. On the other hand, the red highlights have warmed up my skin tone, and my hair is all shiny and lustrous at the moment, so that�s good. I figure in a few washes I�ll have the coppery-reddish tone I want.

So Infinityfye�after some confusion as to what I meant when I said I was looking like a 13-year-old acne prone girl�suggested that perhaps my recent, ghastly (it really is *very* bad) acne breakout might have something to do with my state of mind rather than with the Cairo pollution, which is what I�ve been blaming it on. At first I refuted his suggestion since at the moment I am happier and healthier (both mentally and physically) than I have been in a long time. But earlier today I thought about it�the last time I broke out this badly was during the tsunami. I think I might have even written something about it at the time, about how even though I thankfully wasn�t directly affected by it, it did subconsciously do something to my psyche for a while. I know it sounds very hippy-dippy (and most of you are rolling your eyes right now), but what can I say? I�m a sensitive soul. Perhaps the post-Katrina aftermath is affecting me much more than I realize.

Or maybe this is just revenge for getting through all of puberty with nary a breakout?

I wonder if Zaprudy is going to weigh in on Arnie's veto? *Ahem*

go west + go east