newgyptian
newgyptian

I know why the caged bird sometimes doesn't want to leave the cage
September 04, 2005

So it�s been a few days since I�ve updated. Here�s what been going on in the �fascinating� world of Newgy:

* This morning I went to my dietician (yes, shut up, I have one whom I see semi-weekly�i.e., I don�t go when I don�t feel like paying), and found out that I have almost reached the weight I was when I graduated from high school which is pretty awesome. When I say almost, I mean that I am like one pound away from what I weighed when I graduated from high school/started college. Funny story about that weight�Mr. Inkwell, PhillyPhanPhiance, and I were working on a center of gravity problem for Physics class my freshman (their sophomore) year, and we had to figure out �Camilla�s� weight based on all the other info we were given. I figured Camilla�s weight to be the weight I was at the time, i.e. the weight I almost am as of this morning. When I told Mr. Inkwell and PPP the number I had gotten, they both practically fell off the table laughing. Mind you, the weight was given in kilograms, so I understand that they were perhaps not as familiar with the scale, but anyway they both burst out laughing and saying, �Well, that Camilla must be AN ELEPHANT.� After which I got a really sober expression on my face and said, �Guys, that�s how much I weigh.� The look on their face after that was priceless as they tried to backtrack and say things like, �Well then you must have bones of steel.� I really do think that is the case. People are always surprised when I tell them how much I weigh. That doesn�t, however, mean that I don�t plan to try and lose another 7 KG in an attempt to reach the weight I was when I *started* high school.
Anyway, I hate girls who talk/obsess about their weight so I�ll stop with this here. I�m svelte and I�m awesome. That�s all you need to know.


* My parents came back two days early from their trip in Spain. They had seen everything they wanted to see, I guess, and my mom was worried about my grandmother. Thus, they cut short what was supposed to be my week of fun. Frankly, I think I enjoyed it pretty well. I was out almost every night, I met a lot of new people, and I finally got my hair cut which I�ve been meaning to do for a couple of weeks. I�m actually kind of relieved that my parents are home. The whole time they were out of the country I felt like I had to make the most of the opportunity and party all the time, while also taking care of whatever was going on at home/in the family (for some reason this task always inevitably falls to me, as I am apparently the �responsible� one. Who knew?) Anyway, their early return gave me a legitimate excuse to blow off meeting up with PG (much as I love him) at the gym or the coffee shop for the 4th day in a row.

* On Tuesday night I met up with Di at the Greek Club. After she left I hung out with Teej and his band of merry, international men until 2 in the morning. They were drinking ouzo and beer, and talking politics and journalism. I was listening amused, and trying to figure out why I wasn�t interested in Teej�s friend, Jim, whom Teej had sort of hand-picked for me. I mean this boy was about 6�3�, and had the type of build I love�wide but lean. He had a great complexion (even though I resemble a 13-year-old, acne-prone girl at the moment, I really have this thing about a nice complexion), he wore glasses (which I like), and he�s a sweet, Irish-American boy with the cutest Arabic you�ve ever heard. On top of that, he�s smart and talkative, and he�s in Egypt for the next 5 months brushing up on his Arabic while applying to med schools. Oh, and his mother died 5 years ago of ovarian cancer. I mean, the boy is cute, smart, and has a little bit of tragedy thrown in there�yet I can�t seem to muster much interest in him. Or rather, I think he�s really cool, but instead of wanting to jump him, I want to hug him�or, er, pinch his cheeks or something.
No matter, Tuesday night was really fun for me, what with the talking to a former Turkish sea captain, Zenith�s Welsh counterpart, and three wry Germans, one of whom was named something that really sounded like �Fight�, and who wanted to know what exactly is considered cheating? (His verdict: �As long as I still love my girlfriend, it�s ok that someone else gave me a blowjob.� Mine: �Asswipe.�)

* Speaking of JIMs I recently saw this article which pretty much details what happened there. I know I haven�t talked about him in a while. There is a reason, and it can be found in the above-mentioned article when it says: �His reply was impossibly swift for its length: I live 45 seconds from there and I would be doing my own thing. I am not leachy. Very independent boy I am. I may or may not, depends where the wind takes me.
Was it just me, or had things just taken a hairpin turn for the hostile? My message was meant to be friendly. Had it come out that way? Or was I reading him wrong? I needed to find a way to respond that was light, in case I was only imagining he was angry, but not flippant, in case he actually was.�

A hairpin turn for the hostile is pretty much how I would describe what went down. Anyway, the article is funny.

Alright. Again this post is way too long, and I know that I had much more to say, but I�ve luckily forgotten most of it.

I�m outtie.

go west + go east