newgyptian
newgyptian

random bits
July 03, 2005


Being that a big chunk of my job consists of translating international (well, mostly Middle Eastern) up-to-the-minute news, I have taken up reading celebrity gossip because sometimes I just can't read anymore news. Which is unfortunate because while I can be counted on to be up to speed on the latest Iraq death toll, I am often behind on important news items that we just don't cover. A lot of times, celebrity gossip is boring and repetitive. But sometimes I find items and blogs that will just make me laugh and laugh. Or grin. To that end:

-- Alan Cummings and Jamie Kennedy dish!

--Read about how Stella got her groove back and then lost it again (This is really kind of bizarre)

--Because he is vaguely my kind of hot, and extremely bizarre y�all should check out Jake Bronstein (He�s enough of a celebrity to have made it onto Gawker a couple of times)

-- Old news. Too hot for words. Hayden Christiansen apparently kissing Ewan McGregor.

-- And, from the same website�A Socialite�s Life �I give you the following picture of the hotness that is Hayden Christiansen (I�m sorry for thinking he�s hot, OK?!) posing with Dhani Harrison (This one�s really for you Dolo)

You know what�s cool? Yesterday I met a guy who went to high school with one of the writers for Page Six. Okay, it�s not that cool, but I was psyched.

In other news, it seems that the honeymoon is over for me and JIM, which is okay. Although, it�s a bit odd considering that we haven�t even met yet. He has been perfectly polite and very sweet, and in an email sent after our phone conversation he proved he didn�t have a clue when he asked, �I hope your feeling bad didn�t have anything to do with me.� Well, hmm. I explained to him that it did, and he very sweetly apologized, but, eh, things have been kind of cool since.
*shrug*

Meanwhile, even though I have a list of songs on repeat, I just keep going back to Low�s �Silver Rider�. It�s�just�really pretty. Jing and, based on reviews I�ve read, other people find Low�s music disturbing. Which I can understand. I mean, three Mormons who sing such lyrics as �Tonight you will be mine/ tonight the monkey dies� is kind of disturbing, but I find their music sweet and mesmerizing. It�s been inspiring me to sing and make music, which I haven�t been inspired to do in a long time. Over the weekend I sat down at the piano and banged out a few tunes, though that got frustrating pretty quickly.
Maybe tonight I�ll pull out the viola and see what kind of aural damage I can do.

go west + go east