newgyptian
newgyptian

Randomly chosen roundup
June 28, 2005

Before I forget, Yibba tagged me the other day and I haven�t yet played along. I�m supposed to give my top six favorite songs of the moment. Well, let me just take a look at the play list I always have going here at work and pick the top 6 of the 15 or so constantly repeating songs (courtesy, mostly, of BK and JIM):
1) Low � �Silver rider�
2) The Futureheads - �Hounds of love�
3) Jimmy Eat World � �Work�
4) New Order � �Someone like you�
5) The One AM Radio - �Shivers�
6) Pat Benatar - �Love is a battlefield� (a little old school to rock out to)

Once upon a time, by this point in the summer season, I would have compiled a kick ass mix of upbeat hip hop, R&B, and pop-y tunes, but this is not turning out to be one of those summers. It�s more like a summer of waiting�for things to happen, and for fall to come and for phone calls and letters to come from JIM (or so he likes to think). Speaking of which�he called me this morning, and I really don�t know how you boys do it, but he managed to say all the wrong things. It�s like, he started out with something bad ( �You know, you should get some hobbies.� - the �instead of waiting around for me to call� was sort of implied by other things he said before and after), and it just got worse--I even ran the entire conversation by Di to make sure that I wasn't blowing things entirely out of proportion [her verdict: only a little]. Finally, Mr. Brilliant said, �Hey, you sound kind of sad. Are you okay?� To which I replied, �I�ll be better as soon as I get off the phone.� Which I�m convinced he must not have heard, because all he said was, �You should get back to sleep. I�ll call you again in a couple of days. Don�t be sad.�
I�m just shaking my head at him right now. *Sigh*
Oh, wait, I�m supposed to �tag� six other people to do the music thing�so GO Mr, Inkwell (maybe you�ll actually update now?), Zaprudy, Dolo, Peaceplz, Infinitfye, and I would say Chakra Chick, but she�s just put one up today, so anyone else feel free.

So I saw Batman Begins over the weekend, and I loved it, even though I missed the first 20 minutes, which I feel may have been key, but there was nothing I could do about it so I watched it anyway because who knows when I will get another chance to get the cinema because for some reason that just never works out for me. {Breath}
But yeah, I�ve loved Christian Bale since his Newsies days. Then I loved him even more in Little Women and then American Psycho (even though he was all, like, psycho and stuff). And, along with most everyone else, I think he made an excellent Batman. Pretty, but tortured. Go Christian.

Because I got to the theater so late I sat in the ass back row, which was fine by me because I hate to sit too close to the screen. But I got seated next to this couple. Who obviously wanted their privacy back there. At one point, the girl sitting next to me adjusted her veil. By adjusted, I mean took it off and put it back on. By veil, I mean that thing that modest Muslim girls wear on their heads for supposedly religious reasons. By wanted their privacy I mean there was a lot of arms around shoulders, long moments of tense silence, followed by breathless whispering and more shifting.
Maybe they were married or engaged or something. Either way, you go kids! Thank you for not bothering me too much with your movie make-out antics.

Please leave comments, people. Even if it has nothing to do with anything. I get bored. I like comments.

go west + go east