newgyptian
newgyptian

Steps to enjoying a wedding
June 23, 2005

Last night the youngest daughter of the woman who has been my mother's best friend since they were 13 got married. As much as two women who have lived in two different countries for the better part of 30 years can, my mother and her friend raised their children "together." We would spend summers in Alexandria at their beach house, then later bought beach houses next to each other on the North Coast, and when my sister decided she would be staying in Egypt for university she rented a small apartment one floor above "Auntie's" apartment, and for the next 5 years was treated like the 4th child.
Growing up during the summer vacations, my sister and I would spend more time Auntie's daughters, Hoda and Noora, than we did with our cousins. As we grew older, sure, we grew apart, but we have always been like family.

Noora's wedding last night was the first Egyptian wedding at which I've ever had any fun (and y'all know how much I hate weddings).

I've decided that the recipe to not hating a wedding is as follows:

1)Wear an outfit that will make you feel pretty and festive
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

2)Borrow some of Mamma's bling
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

3)Wear a pair of dainty yet comfortable shoes
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

4)Get your hair did (whimsical hot-iron curls sadly not visible in picture)
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

5)Attend the wedding of a couple who actually enjoy themselves at the wedding, barely pausing from their dancing to cut the cake, greet guests, get photographed, or engage in other similarly boring traditions.

6) Spend the evening imagining lanky, somwhat awkward, rhthymless ex-boyfriend, as belly-dancing, cane-weilding, sweat-pouring groom.

I think I could actually start liking this sort of thing.

go west + go east