newgyptian
newgyptian

Murky
June 09, 2005

Popular 60s crooner Paul Anka (Arab-American, yo!) has made an album of covers of rock songs. To hear samples go here or here . Some people don't like covers. I generally love them. I love the idea of someone taking something old, reinterpreting it, and making it new. It just reinforces my worldview that nothing is stable, nothing is set in stone. Everything can be remade.
But I don't really like THESE covers, from what I've heard. Nonetheless, it's an interesting idea.

I dragged Di out to dinner the other night. I wanted Indian, but the place we went to was closed for renovations, so we went to a place a little ways down the street and had sushi instead. Afterwards, Di was meeting with a friend of hers who was having her coffee read (it's like reading tea leaves, but with Turkish coffee instead). After much deliberation and skepticism, and ultimately concern over what I might hear, I decided to tag along and get my coffee and my cards read.
Madame Laila has a good reputation, apparently, but she's a little bit psycho. She accurately predicted a few things about me--"You have a problem with your leg, right? Your right leg?" "There is someone or something in your life that has a connection to Russia." "You are very worried about your brother lately, but don't worry, everything will be taken care of." (Well, that's a load off.)

She also had me give her the names of two men in my life. She had a lot of good things to say about me and one of the men, and not so great things to say about the other. That was the part where I felt like she was totally off. She asked me if I'd slept with the one guy whom she predicted good things with, and I honestly told her no. She said that he was sleeping with someone now, but that his heart was with me. He just didn't know how to let the other one down.
Which is disconcerting consdering he is currently on a fairly isolated 3-month bike trip with a gay man.

She said that I will be traveling soon, and that I am very worried about my trip. She said that there will be problems at first, but everything will turn out alright in the end. She also said that I will go to this place, come back, and then go back and settle there. When I asked her what I would be doing there she told me, "I see...wide open spaces. I see lots of people. Maybe something in the arts? Do you have any relatives in the arts? Someone you know is going to help you get into the arts."

Well, huh.

She said she saw me leaning over someone who was laying down and kissing them. Which is interesting since I haven't leaned over to kiss my grandmother in a couple of weeks.

She said, "You look like a nice girl, but given the right environment you are very daring!" Hahahahahaha.

Maybe.

All in all, she wasn't THAT bad. She wasn't as bad as the palm-reader I once saw in Philly, and which Jing caught on tape. But, as far as I can see, she wasn't very good either.

But, like a gambler, I'll probably go back for more at some point, because next time we might just hit the jackpot.

go west + go east