newgyptian
newgyptian

A quick update
May 03, 2005

No entries lately. Sorry about that. I just had a four-day weekend (Worker's day, and then the Spring Holiday, god I love Egyptian holidays...) but somehow I was busy the whole time even though none of my friends were in town. I went and visited family (my poor grandmother broke her arm), and just hanging out with my sister which has been nice. Yesterday was actually fun. Mini got back in town from her beach house and called me up. She was on my end of town so we hung out at our usual shisha place, and then went across the street with the brothers Nandy (Nady, Andy) and played a game of trivial pursuit. Andy and I were on a team and we totally cleaned up, after laggging in the first half of the game.

So...the bombings. I don't know how much people have heard about this elsewhere but there were two bombings in Cairo on Saturday. It's freaky...that's 3 bombings in the past month after 10 years of nothing. I still haven't figured out if I think these are random or what? I dunno.

After hanging out with Mini yesterday, my sister picked me up and we went shopping. A lot of the shops were closed because of the holiday. We went to this shopping mall in the Hyatt hotel and the security was insane. Before getting into the parking garage we had to stop our car and a dog came sniffing around, and then my sister had to hand over her license while we were inside. To get into the hotel we had to go through a metal detector--which is actually standard at all hotels and malls in Cairo, so not just because of the bombings--but the guard standing at the detector told us, "Just hand over your bombs and you'll be fine." Yeah, not funny buddy. Anyway, we walked around a bit and decided that there was nothing to see so we just went home.
It's weird how empty Cairo has been because of the holidays.

Anyway, I'll write more about Sharm and climbing Mt. Sinai later. It just feels like it takes so much effort to organize my thoughts and the pictures. So, yeah, coming soon...

go west + go east