newgyptian
newgyptian

When I'm wrong I...make a joke about it
February 26, 2005

As Kylie Hastings says in Strictly Ballroom when Pam Short *actually* breaks both her legs..."Well, that was unexpected."

Mubarak orders direct presidential elections

Aside to Mr. Inkwell--D'oh!

***Update***

>Saudi women to vote in the next elections, among other things

What the fuzzuck is happening in the Arab world, yo?

Also, to respond to comments left by Mr. Inkwell in the last entry, and then Jing in this one.

Mr. Inkwell...As you well know I am not above a good protest/demonstration, and I am all for democratization in Egypt. So, idealistically I could have participated in the protests, but for the love of my life I would not have. People get seriously injured, and sometimes killed, during a lot of these protests, or at the very least, thrown in jail. While I am not above going to jail for a good cause, I would honestly only do so in a country where I feel my rights would be fully granted, and unfortunately that country is not Egypt.

So, in short, no I would probably not have participated in the protests, if for no other reason (and there are other reasons) than because I value my life the way it currently is. I suppose that is lame, but that is the way it is for me right now.

Jingo...Do I think he really means it? Yes, I think he does. I mean, I think he will amend the constitution to allow for many candidates to run. But I am not one to underestimate the slyness of the Egyptian political system. During the 2000 elections the majority National Democratic Party (NDP) decided to hold something like primaries for parliament positions. When certain NDP candidates did not gain their parties nominations, they left the party and ran independently. When the popular votes came in overwhelmingly in favor for these now-independent candidates, the NDP came back and said "Oh, yes, you're part of our party, aren't you?" And brought them back into the NDP. (Read about it here.)

What I'm saying is, while I'm trying to be positive and optimistic about this development, deep down I know that our leaders can always find a loophole.

As for Nawal Saadawi? I think she's nutso as do most Egyptians, and if all the candidates are like her then Mubarak will end up winning the elections again, and this time will be able to gloat that he did it fair and square.

A nice summary of the issue (and issues with the issue) can be found in this Al-Jazeera article.

go west + go east