newgyptian
newgyptian

A Newgyptian in Tunisia
January 18, 2005

Quick rundown of what's happened so far:
Before the plane even took off in Cairo I got hit on by a Tunisian.
Actually, let me back up. After numerous warnings from Zenith and E. that I would not understand Tunisian and me sort of scoffing it off, I got on the plane and proceeded to have no idea what anyone was saying.
Therefore, I was not SURE if I was being hit on by the young man sitting behind me who kept looking over my shoulder and asking me questions, until after take-off.
By the end of the flight I had his number.
He was sweet, but I'm not calling him.
Then again, maybe I will to wish him a happy eid, because after all is said and done he was not creepy and I am too paranoid (thanks mom).
Day One in Tunisia has been nice so far. After a lazy morning, E. and I and their cool Swiss flatmate Sandra with whom I am sharing a room met up with Zenith in the "medina" (that's city). We then walked in the heart of the medina, the old city where the original stone gates stand, and where there is a hopping bizaar which was actually not so hopping. We had coffee and shisha, and did not much else, though I did buy a pretty scarf. E. and Zenith had classes to attend/ teach so Sandra took charge of me and we walked around a bit then headed to Amideast where Zenith was preparing some exams (which he is now administering). It was a long walk from the medina to Amideast, and as a warning to my fat ass, my thighs are throbbing. Time to get back to the gym. Anyway, good day, I am tired and waiting with E. in the Amideast computer lab for Zenith to finish up so we can all head home.

It's nice to be out of Cairo in a place where the air is clean, and the atmosphere is very...well, European I guess.

But more actual observations on the country later.

go west + go east