newgyptian
newgyptian

Ride on children, ride on
January 11, 2005

Sorry I�ve been MIA lately. There�s been relatively little going on physically, and lots going on mentally, which just means I have a lot of thoughts and not the patience/energy/interest to write them down.
January 9th marked the one year anniversary of my departure from Philly, though not my arrival in Egypt, as I spent almost two weeks in the interim in London. Anyway, the fact still remains that it�s been nearly a year (minus a week or so) since I�ve left the country. That hasn�t happened to me in 21 years. Wooohooo! for small achievements.
However, I am not going to quite make it to the one year mark. I arrived in Egypt last year on January 22nd. This year, on January 17th I will (inshallah) be leaving for Tunisia to visit Zenith and Elizabeth. For the last two weeks I have been wavering whether to go spend 5 days to a week with them for a decent plane fare, or to follow through on my declaration over the summer to three of my high school friends who are currently backpacking through India that I would meet up with them for a couple of weeks in Delhi. That trip would have perhaps been a little more exciting, but twice the cost in airfare, and besides none of those friends in India have been in touch with me, even after my frantic emails sent a month ago. So sucks to them. Also, if I have only a couple of weeks to spend in India I�d rather spend them in the south (mostly Kerala)�not exactly the best idea right now? And also, not where my friends currently are.
So that�s that. I talked to the happy couple in Tunisia a couple nights ago and they are so excited about me coming which helped up my excitement level a great deal, so now I am super-excited. Yay! Carthage! Woo!!
Other random thoughts just because I really have to get this out:
Smallville? Pretty great show. Beginning of season three? INCREDIBLE. Seriously, even Omar over at TWoP agrees. Well, at least on one of the episodes. Though I have to say...it almost offends me that Omar just doesn�t seem to like the show. Whatever. I suppose that is what TWoP is all about.
My obsession with Smallville sort of reached a peak about a week ago. Actually, it reached a feverish peak. I was blowing off friends, pacing around till family members went to sleep, focusing my entire being on watching a couple of episodes each night before going to bed. But now it is done. I am glad that as far as I�m concerned the end of season 3 wasn�t as exciting for me as the end of the first two seasons. I watched that last episode, and then was able to lay my obsession to rest. At least a little. I know I talk a lot about television here, and claim to be obsessed with such-and-such show, but honestly, I have never been THIS obsessed with a show. Just trust me on this one.
So, after a little over a month my brother leaves tomorrow morning. Sadness. We tried hard over the vacation to just convince him to stay in Egypt, but a young man must do what he must do. My mother is miserable, and we�re all pretty sad, obviously. Yeah, okay, I just decided I don�t want to talk about this anymore.
There was one more thing, but I can�t think of it now. Ah well. The ole mental processes are just not what they used to be.

go west + go east