newgyptian
newgyptian

It's going to be a long December
December 21, 2004


So I�ve been in a foul mood the past few days, which is saying a lot since I tend to get stressed, annoyed, anxious fairly easily, but to be in a truly foul mood takes a lot. And then I came into work and turned on the radio and they played Camron�s �Hey Ma� and the mood began to lighten. Now they are playing Moby�s �Porcelain�, and my mood is near-perfect. If they could just...I don�t know, play �Twist and Shout� like the did yesterday the mood will be complete. Yes, with such an odd mix of musical treats one might think that I�m hard to please, and well, that may or may not be true. It depends on the day honestly. (Oh, yesterday? Someone called, what sounded like "Newgy", requested a song on the radio. Am I not the only Newgy in Cairo?)

Anyway, the reasons I have been in a foul mood:

1)Well, ahem, THAT.

2)My house has turned into the assembly hall for Islam World Summit 2004. My cousin is staying with us for a few days�which is fine. BUT, she�s been lecturing my brother and other boy cousins on the necessity of prayer and the wonders of religion the past few days, and if there�s anything I can�t stand it�s proselytizing of any kind. Especially if you are doing it to obviously deaf ears thinking you can make any sort of change. Grr. It�s okay if she preaches to me (just because, whatever, I�ll deal) but preaching to a pair of 18 year old boys? Hmm. Yeah, I�m going to take advice from someone who is so obviously out of touch.

3)I am just generally having one of those weeks where I am�really feeling the world�s sadness, and that�s not good for anyone.

4)I�m tired. I want a vacation. Zenith wants me to visit them in Tunisia this weekend to attend their blow out Christmas party. When I said I couldn�t because Thursday is my brother�s birthday, among other things, he messaged back �Wow�who knew that wild & crazy, can�t be in one place for long, uber-cynical New E. Gyptian, would in her old age turn into a blood-is-thicker-than-water traditionalist?� Ok, so that didn�t really put me in a bad mood. Though, I�ve never claimed to be wild and/or crazy, and it�s other people who call me cynical (personally, I think I�m a realistic optimist). I didn�t appreciate the sarcasm. And the reminder that I can no longer just pick up and leave.

5)Oh yeah. I am developing a supremely unhealthy obsession with Smallville. I have always liked that show, but now I am ditching friends, working overdrive at work so I can get home early, and forgetting meals in order to watch the show. My brother brought back the first three seasons, and it is currently my goal to finish them before he goes back to Miami and takes them with him (oh GOD WHY?) I have been reading up on the Superman legacy online. I have been reading up on the Smallville actors� lives (though, that was a mistake. I can�t get over the fact that 15-year-old Clark Kent, is actually 27 and married. Boo. Oh my God, what the hell is wrong with me?) At least, my one true love�Lex Luthor/Michael Rosenbaum�is the age I imagined him to be and apparently not married. He�s also Jewish. And odd-looking. Or as Mini would say, �Newgy�s brand of ugly.� I could have sworn Notorious wrote a brilliant entry on the wonders of the show, and the latent homoeroticism of the relationship between Clark and Lex, but now I can�t find it. (Though, in searching through the archives I realized that I must have internalized most of his diary, because I tend to, rather more superficially, address a lot of the same pop-y subjects he does. Hmm.) Anyway, Notorious, if you could post a link to that entry, or explain to me why I clearly remember such an entry, that would be great.

In any case, as with any obsession, this one is affecting my life way too much. To the point where I just can�t deal with reality. And as someone who likes to consider herself a realist (see above) this just will not do.
Anyway, I�m halfway through season two. In a week or so I�ll be done with all 3 seasons and then hopefully I can lay my Smallville obsession to rest. Though, until I see the epic moment when Clark and Lex become enemies, I don�t really know if I�ll actually be able to do that.
I think I need to start another diary just to discuss my television obsessions.

Okay, I know I promised pictures, but with my latest obsession/ cousin to entertain in at hom/ heavy-ish workload I have just not gotten around to it. With the three-day weekend I have this week though I�ll be able to get around to it, I hope.

Finally, on a sad and somber note, Seth�s (Mr. Inkwell) Nan suddenly passed away this past weekend. Though I was only lucky enough to meet her a few times (and sample her incomparable potato salad) Seth and his family were very close to her, and this is a tough time for all of them, especially at this time of year. This news has actually made me more upset in the past couple days since I found out than I thought it would. I wish I could be there for you Sethy...know that my thoughts are with you.

Much love.

go west + go east