newgyptian
newgyptian

Shalalalallala...my green-eyed boy!
October 01, 2004


So I did something kind of...odd the other day.

See, my work involves occasional fact-checking/note-comparing with various Israeli news sites in English. Maariv International, Haaretz, and Arutz Sheval come in handy. I generally spend most of my time on Haaretz as it is the most comprehensively and consistently updated, and it's the one I find easiest to stomach. It also doesn't hurt that they often show banners for the Jewish
dating site, Jdate Personalswith this one lovely man's mug smiling at me under a caption that says �50,000 green-eyed nice Jewish boys.� Or something like that
I think you can see where I'm going with this. No?
Well, let me spell it out for you.
I have never, and I mean EVER, considered signing up for one of those dating services. I mean, I don't even use Friendster for hook up purposes. I mean I don't think I've even idly surfed one of those dating sites (well, except for Friendster). And yet, today, after two plus months of staring at pretty, green-eyed Jew boy's face, I decided
that I wanted to check out this particular dating site.
Unfortunately, when I clicked on the banner on the Haaretzsite I found out that you can't just sort of surf the site before becoming a member. No, in order to surf the site you have to have an account, and a full profile. I mean, you can't even just sort of half-assedly
sign up. No. You have to actually put down some sort of bullshit. So I did. I created a profile for myself. I clicked on the confirmation email, and I became a functioning member of the Jdates community.

I feel dirty.

In my profile, I specified that I was only looking for friends, just because even though I considered playing the role of make-believe vixen I really just signed up because I wanted to browse the site. I decided to make things as uncomplicated as possible. I didn't answer any of the questions about religion, ethnicity etc. I didn't post a
picture. I put my location as Philadelphia. I tried to make my profile as "just here to help" as possible.

I logged in and the first profile to "match" mine really was quite a match. �Jmillman� is also a Gemini, he also doesn�t like people who take themselves too seriously, and he is also just looking for a nice, open-minded person. He was kind of sporty looking, ie � not exactly my type, but he was cute.

Since I am new to this sort of thing, I didn�t realize people can send you instant messages when you are logged on. So I got two messages. The first guy was pretty unimpressive with a �hi�. I ignored him. The second guy came on with a �Hey beautiful.� Did I mention? I didn�t post a picture with this profile. I think I did. Anyway, that one got the ignore treatment as well. Today, I found that I have two emails from the site, and 27 people have viewed my profile. Sadly, I have to actually pay to see the emails, and I�m not about to do that.
Anyway, it has been an interesting experience so far. I was planning to just browse the site for a few days, but now I�m thinking I might keep up my profile for a few days.
Hmm.

go west + go east