newgyptian
newgyptian

The one with all the exclamations
September 22, 2004

Mmmmmmmmm!

I'm in such a good mood this morning (well, now afternoon). I got into work, this time remembering to bring some music to keep me company, and found the office fairly empty.

There were a few news items to take care of, but not much else as Monde and I have been really on top of our shit this week. Yeah!

So, yeah, I got in and put in the soundtrack for The Wedding Singer which was given to me by Mrs. Zenith as a going away present, and thought back to the awesome Christmas party we attended where we showed a bunch of crazy Italians patented 80's moves like 'the lawn mower,''the sprinkler,'the shopping cart,' and my personal specialty, 'the molly ringwald circa the breakfast club.'

When I came out of that reverie, I found myself rocking out to Depeche Mode's "Just Can't Get Enough," and dreaming, of BK of all people. I think he could do a great retarded baby dance to that song. Yeah, I had that song on repeat for a while.

Around noon my sister called me up and told me to meet her downstairs in a couple of minutes. It turns out she had brought me a cappuccino from Retro, our very favorite cafe. Retro doesn't just have coffee drinks that are good by Egyptian standards. They have some of the best coffee drinks EVER. Yum! Hurray for thoughtful sisters!

Other things to be happy about?

--Zenith is not going to Iraq! Yippers! Instead he is going to accompany his wife to Tunisia. And I am going to visit them! (Love how I've already invited myself?)

--Lady Di is coming back to Egypt today! Now my lonely exiles club can have a membership of two!

--Notorious finally updated today after...well, too many days.

And in the news, these two items made me happy:

-- Refuseniks

--Peace Cycle

The first item is about the discharge from the IDF of five Israeli refuseniks who spent nearly two years in jail for refusing to serve in the occupied territories. The second item is basically the website for peace activists who cycled from London to Amsterdam, and then flew to Amman, Jordan, to arrive yesterday in Israel.

Hurray for good people.

go west + go east