newgyptian
newgyptian

"Brenda? Why must you turn your seedy apartment complex into a tenement of lies?"
September 20, 2004

Two things have put me in a highly good mood today.

The first thing is my discovery of Suheir Hammad's journal. Okay, so I didn't really discover it, but rather I found it among the Head Heeb's links. In any case, it makes me happy. Some of you may know her from the Def Poetry Jam. If you like poetry and politics (as an Arab, it is easy to forget that SOMETIMES the two can be separated) then you will probably like Suheir Hammad. Finding her journal makes me happy. Since first seeing her at the Rotunda in Philly a few years ago, I have wanted to be her. Now, at least, I can live vicariously.

The other thing that's making me happy is my reunification with Television Without Pity. Along with many other entertaining online things (Ladeeleroy, Eugene Mirman, to name a couple) I have to credit Ms. Dolo with introducing me to Television Without Pity. For a long time I did not understand the appeal. Why would you want to read a recap for a TV show before seeing it, therefore ruining it for yourself? And why would you want to read it after you'd already seen the show? What could possibly be added?

It took me moving thousands of miles across the Atlantic to the land of crap television to realize that 1) I am serious TV addict and 2) Television Without Pity is amazing. Through TWoP (that's what the cool kids call it) I have been able to keep up on shows that I don't get here, and probably wouldn't watch anyway, like America's Next Top Model, and I can also catch up on epidodes I have missed of shows I do watch here like Six Feet Under and Smallville.

I had stopped reading TWoP for about 4 months because....well, I don't know why. Maybe because I got a job, and a life, and got busy. But I'm back on the TWoP wagon, and I'm glad!

Oh man, I love the SFU and America's Next Top Model recaps. When I first got here and had no job and no life, Aaron and Djb's recaps kept me laughing and entertained. And I imagine that Djb's recaps for ANTM are so much better than the actual show, though I wouldn't know. Anyway, I was kind of sad to discover that after 3 seasons Aaron is no longer recapping SFU. He gave that show stalker-freak, Jew-boy-sarcastic appreciation that I became familiar with, and which played in my head as I caught the third season of the show over here. But, I think that if he had to be replaced by anyone I'm glad it was Djb who replaces Aaron's dweeby sincerity with scathing sarcasm.

People, am I a HUGE dork? Ah, yes, well no need to be so honest. Check out the recap for the 1st episode of the 4th season of Six Feet Under, and tell me you didn't even crack a smile.

go west + go east