newgyptian
newgyptian

A lull
September 15, 2004

Mini has this great baby tee that her mom bought her. It's just plain white and scrawled across the...general chest area in navy blue it says "Virgin Islands." Her mother did not actually go to the Virgin Islands to get this t-shirt. We're not sure where she got it, but Mini wears it a lot and we both love it. We've made many jokes about it.

A while ago we were at our favorite Nile-side cafe, Andrea, (accent on the e, or somewhere) and Mini was wearing the shirt which necessarily means that at some point we were talking about the shirt. (Our conversations don't tend to get much more sophisticated than that, especially when PG is around, which he was).

Mini decided that if I were the one wearing the t-shirt then they would have to change the name to the "Virgin Archipelago." PG came up with "Virgin Isthmus" but we think he just wanted to say isthmus.

I'm sorry folks. These things make me laugh, and they've become the recurring jokes of my life. I make fun of Mini for wanting to be a Mafioso's mistress (metaphorically), and she makes fun of me being so...big. And then we both make fun of PG for any random thing, and he mostly just takes it like the gentleman that he is.

What I'm trying to say is...the weather is changing. (What?! That doesn't seem like where this was logically going in the first place?) It's cooler outside, and again I'm sleeping with the windows open, and the AC off, falling asleep to the sound of alley cats mating. More things in my life are starting to feel like memories. I'm getting kind of nostalgic and romantic about things here, which I think means that I'm starting to feel like I belong. And that's a nice feeling. But I'm sure that before I move into this feeling, the wanderlust is going to strike me again. I can't believe I've been this long without leaving the country. I'm sure I've said this before, but this is the first time in maybe 10 years that I've been this long in a country without leaving it for even a week or two. I don't know why this effects me so much, but it does. It feels odd.

Anyway...

I'm working on putting together a little photo essay. I just signed up for a free trial typepad site. I've been thinking about taking newgyptian elsewhere, but I feel kind of sad about leaving diaryland behind. I've got a month to decide, meanwhile I just spent a lot of time fixing up my archives which has been screwed up for the past few weeks. Some things are listed twice. I couldn't fix that. Just know that one of the two links for the things that are listed twice will work.

go west + go east