newgyptian
newgyptian

Waste not want not
August 13, 2004

Well, NotoriousRRZ did this survey in solidarity with my recent bout of...whatever--writer's block or whatever you want to call it. Sometimes I think that this diary should be more interesting, more informative, more useful to society. Or something.

And then sometimes I think it's a diary not a blog and it should basically just be about what I want.

And right now I want to do this survey.

To quote Parker Posey in Dazed and Confused, "You love me. Smile. You love me bitches."

...

1) What was the first thing you wanted to be when you grew up?

I vaguely remember wanting to be a fireman? But I don't actually remember that. No it's sad but from the age of 7 to 17 I pretty much wanted to be some sort of engineer. Silly girl.

2)Come up with a pet you don't have, and name the poor creature.

A giraffe named Penelope. I've always wanted a giraffe.

3)Confess a guilty pleasure.

Muslim guilt is worse than Catholic guilt. It's actually probably almost as bad as Amish guilt.

So basically my whole life is a guilty pleasure. Though sometimes not always a pleasure.

4) Provide a story, habit, or interest that could serve as your geek/dork/nerd id card.

Let's see...my sense of humor is enough to get me into the dork club. I was in math league when I was in middle school so that should take care of the nerd club. Hmmm...I used to spend hours messing around with Logo on my Commodore64 so that should get me into the geek club too. I realize that the question meant that it was all one club, but really they should be three separate ones.

5) Same-sex and heterosex aside, should "marriage" be legal?

I have been in a state of rage all week mostly due to various discussions dealing with marriage and weddings. I will maybe get to that in some later entry, but suffice it to say today I think marriage should be illegal.

6)What book would you plead with your friends to spare themselves from?

Hmm. I can't think of one. Ok, so even though a lot of people like this book...A Confederacy of Dunces. For some reason that book really bothered me.

7) What's the last good book you read?

Uh I just finished re-reading both of the Bridget Jones's Diary books, which are good. But, the last good book I read for the first time was probably The Lover by A.B. Yehoshua.

8) Recommend a children's book.

I like my baby cousin's Ten Ladybug's book. It's kind of like that caterpillar book from when I was a kid, except more high tech. For more advanced tastes I would recommend The Secret Garden.

9) What's in your CD or MP3 collection that you'd rather not admit?

Shania Twain's The Woman in Me which I actually still like but know I shouldn't.

10) What question would be really difficult to answer?

"Do you have any regrets?" Because I try to live my life so that I don't end up having regrets but I know I do have a few and I don't want to.

11) What question would you have a really easy time answering?

"What's your favorite color?"

12) Best test: multiple choice, fill-in-the-blanks, or short answer/essay?

Gotta go with Notorious on this one and say essay even though sometimes I get really bored with them and then fuck 'em up.

13)Name one thing you learned in school that has actually been applicable in real life.

No one can teach you anything, you have to teach yourself. It's funny that they taught me that in school, but they did.

14) You have a stuffed animal named____

I think everyone knows the answer to this one...my orange koala/mouse/who knows? named "Love me."

15) If I asked you to take me to your leader, who would it be?

I really don't know. Maybe that's what's missing in my life, leadership. Guidance.

16) What do you <3

Oo...like Notorious I too "heart" inari. yum yum. Other than that I pretty much just heart people in all their ickiness.

17) What would be a really bad nickname for you?

Sue.

18) What might you like to be called?

Well I wish I had a more Arabic sounding name. Like old, Beduoin, pre-Islamic Arabic.

Maybe something like Laila or Aysha.

19) What's the worst fad/craze you had to endure?

Pants cuffing in the late 80's.

20) In what celebrity's presence would you most likely not retain composure?

If he were still alive definitely Edward Said. He's a celebrity right? Hmm...as for someone still alive? Well I barely retained composure when I met Naguib Mahfouz. Basically old Arab writers/intellectuals. Khalil Hawi for another dead one, Adonis for another living one. Ok, definitely Adonis.

21) Name something stupid you've done in relation to a musical.

hahahahaha...his name is Josh.

22)Share a cool word.

I spend a lot of time around Arabic words these days. There are a lot of cool Arabic words and I can't think of a single one right now.

23) If you were going to write a book about the person you got this survey from, what would be the first line?

"Notorious has been single-handedly improving Texas' image since 1980."

(It is 1980, right?)

24) Make up your own question and answer it.

What's your pet peeve?

Thoughtlessness.

go west + go east