newgyptian
newgyptian

Is that a wad of cash in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?
June 28, 2004

WOOT! Today was payday. And boy did I get paid. As I'm sure I've mentioned before, I'm working part-time till August. While I know how much I'll be making come August, I hadn't really agreed with the director of the organization on my part-time rate, though he assured me it would be "good." Anyway, turns out part-time? It pays half of full-time.

So today I paid a visit to our friendly accountant who had me sign some papers, and then pulled out two large stacks of cash. Yes folks, I was paid some 3,000+ Egyptian pounds IN CASH. And it's not like Raouf (the accountant) could have given me 100 pound notes. Oh no. He could only manage to get together a few fifties and then two large stacks of tens and twenties. And a large white envelope in which to conceal it all. I recognize that my beloved country is not exactly the most developed of nations, but I didn't realize that a check is just asking for too much. I dared to ask if the organization does direct deposit, and while Raouf didn't exactly laugh in my face, he got kind of shifty eyed and said that they'd be implementing it soon, "inshallah" ("God willing," and God rarely seems to be willing in this town).

In any case, I managed to shove the whole wad into my purse, and I walked home with the stash, handed it to my mother as soon as I got in the door and told her to buy herself something pretty. She gave me a kiss and was all happy for me. I am now the biggest bread winner in my household.

I wanted to take my family out for dinner or coffee or something, but we weren't able to coordinate, so I just ended up going with my sister to get cappuccino and dessert.

And now I should get to sleep. I need get back to the gym in the mornings....it's been a couple of weeks, and that's just a couple of weeks too long.

Night.

go west + go east