newgyptian
newgyptian

Win some, lose some, Pt. II (Or, feeling more like Bridget Jones every day)
June 29, 2006

This morning I left my house looking like a fucking movie star out on the town in St. Tropez or some other shishi sounding place. I had on these flared linen pants I bought at H&M in London, a crisp white blouse (in fact, the same one I�m wearing in my latest Friendster photo, for those who have seen it), sparkly taupe-colored sandals, and a bright white tote bag, with my Italian designer sunglasses resting fashionably atop my head, and a bunch of silver bangles on my right arm.

I drove my dad to the bank before going to work, and as he spent some time in the bank I decided to go and pick up some coffee. Coffee which I then spilled down the front of my shirt right before I got to work. I washed the stains out in the office sink, and am now sitting under the AC waiting for my once crisp white shirt, now extremely wrinkled and short of muddy looking, to dry out.

Needless to say, I am now looking less like a movie star and more like a harassed tourist just come back from a gimmicky safari deep in the �African bush� minus the floppy hat and camera hanging from my neck.

Just when I think I�ve got �it�, I lose it, and I�m starting to think that the expression, �Close, but no cigar� is a pretty adequate summation of my life thus far.

Addendum: Apparently, a "book prize" (see previous entry) is just that. From an email from the cute organizer I mentioned in the previous entry:

I am pleased to inform you that you have been awarded a book prize in recognition of your outstanding entry. Though your essay was not ultimately selected for the top prize, it was identified as a distinguished contribution. In the spirit of the essay contest, you will receive a special edition of Ludwig von Mises's classic treatise on Liberalism. This impassioned defense of classical liberal theory explores the intellectual pillars of individual liberty. We hope the issues addressed in the book help advance your commitment to individual rights. In the next few weeks, we will be mailing two copies to the address you provided when you entered the essay contest.[My address has been removed to discourage stalkers. Yeah right.] Please let me know if you would like the book sent to a different address. Also, don't forget about the seminar for activists we are holding in August. As a finalist, you have been identified as someone with strong potential to make an important contribution � and I encourage you to send in your application to join us in Cairo. Applications are due by this weekend.

Yet somehow I still don't feel like a winner. :)

go west + go east