newgyptian
newgyptian

Over the edge
April 15, 2006

One of the benefits of staying up late/ being a sort of insomniac is that I watch things on TV that I would otherwise not watch. It is well-known that the later you stay up watching television, the worse it gets, until you get to that point where it's so bad it's good. Or until reruns of the best television shows ever start showing on Nick at Nite.

Anyway, I just saw the most brilliant movie ever. It's called On the Line , and - bear with me now - it stars the N'Sync boys. Now, I don't know why I don't remember hearing about this movie when it came out. IMDb tells me that it came out back in 2001, and at that point I was either in Cairo, or spending a lot of time in a West Philly apartment that had no TV and had minimal contact otherwise with the outside world. So that might have something to do with it.

In any case, it's your basic boy and girl and bad timing/didn't say the right thing romantic comedy, but it is SO ridiculous that somewhere towards the middle of the movie you start to marvel at its brilliance. I mean, how can you go wrong with a movie that has appearances from Jerry Stiller, Dave Foley, and Richie Sambora, AND Justin Timberlake camping it up as the stylist/hairdresser in the credits?

IT'S BRILLIANT PEOPLE. Trust me. I recommend y'all put it on your must see list.

Thank you and good night.

go west + go east