newgyptian
newgyptian

Down with love
February 14, 2006

All week long I've been forgetting that Valentine's Day is coming up. For some reason this year it hasn't been as in my face as previous years - even though the friends I celebrated with last year have people to celebrate with this year.

But just now I was listening to the radio station, and they played a song...and now I'm just kind of pissed off at the whole day.

I've never been a V-Day hater. I have always been a believer in love. As cynical as I've always sounded about it, I did ultimately believe in it. But I recently decided/discovered that there is no such thing as love (yeah, btw, THANKS A LOT, JING), at least not the romantical kind. At least not for me. It came on the heels of a really painful realization about someone I thought I really loved, and who I thought really loved me.

Nothing will put you off love faster than the realization that what you thought was the REAL THING, was actually you getting played for a couple of years, so that the other person gets exactly what he wants. I came to this realization about a month or so ago, so I�ve had time to get over it. If I�m upset with anyone, it�s myself for being that stupid girl. And maybe the whole institution of love.

Which is why today, unlike all previous Valentine�s Days I�m not indifferent, or happy for other people, or amused like I have been in past years. No, today I am annoyed and upset that the world keeps trying to sell something that I don�t believe really exists.

go west + go east