newgyptian
newgyptian

"Well that was unexpected"*
January 18, 2006


I have a slightly amusing story to share, but first I'd like to make a correction or two to the survey I posted here. First off, with regards to the "Best new person I met in 2005" picking Neville was just an oversight on my part, because clearly the best TWO new people I met in 2005 were Joe and Mr. Inkwell's girl in Galway. I think I just felt that I knew a little bit about them before I met them, and forgot that I didn't actually know them before I went to Ireland. This may not be important to anyone else but me, but there it is.
Also, I thought of another celebrity crush for 2005 - Pharrell Williams. Mmm....Pharrell.


Ok, now that that's out of the way - last night I got home from work to find the house run amok with various relatives from either side of the family, but they left pretty soon after I got there. While cleaning up, Mini messaged me asking if I wanted to meet her at a favorite Lebanese restaurant in Garden City (not actually a separate city, just another part of town), so I dried off the dishes, took out the garbage, and made a minimal effort to not look so tired and messy, and headed out to meet her. I had no idea who Mini was hanging out with, but figured it was one of the usual crowd. Turns out Mini was on a set-up with the cousin of a friend of ours from high school, but apparently she got kind of bored which is why she asked me to come.
Boyfriend was pretty hot actually, but apparently too American for Mini's tastes. He'd grown up in Pittsburgh and DC, and has been living in Cairo for the past 6 months working for a very prestigious investment company. He must have come straight from work, because he was in this Saville Row grey pin-striped suit, with an orange-striped City of London necktie. (Listen, I used to help my dad pick out his suits and ties when I was younger, which is the only reason I know these things.)
ANYWAY, so conversation was fine. The boy�let�s call him Ty�was gracious enough, and put up with me and Mini�s inside joke banter, and even seemed to catch on to some of it. It was getting a bit late, so we called for the check (he paid, of course), and headed outside. He offered me a ride home in his Jeep Cherokee (Mini had her wheels), but I declined. And then, he shook hands with Mini, gave her the kiss-kiss, turned to me, shook my hand, and then proceeded to OGLE MY BREASTS. You have to understand, I�ve never had this happen to me before, at least not as far as I can remember. But I�m pretty sure that when he shook my hand, he wasn�t looking anywhere near my eyes or face, and he wasn�t that much taller that he had to look that far down. I dunno, when I realized what he was doing I was visibly surprised. But now it�s kind of amusing. Hmm�


*A gold star to the person who can guess what movie the title of this entry is from. I�ll give you a hint�it�s said in an Australian accent, and for whatever reason it�s my favorite line from one of my favorite (somewhat silly) movies.

go west + go east