newgyptian
newgyptian

While you wait
November 24, 2005

So today is my friend Teej's birthday, and we kicked off the celebrations last night by going to this really good Brazilian restaurant in my 'hood. Afterwards, my friend Yasmine invited us to join her at a party being thrown by a bunch of Portuguese men who are currently living in Cairo, doing some contract work for a major mobile phone company. Yasmine met these hot men while on a scuba diving trip some months ago. There were about 20 of these Portuguese men - of varying ages and degrees of hotness - and a handful of their Italian, French, and assorted European friends at this party. There was a total of about 5 woman, myself included, to these 20-30 men.

Of course, your friend Newgy managed to find one of the few Americans at the party, an American from New Jersey no less, and waste her time chatting him up. Let me restate�there was a tall, dreamy-eyed boy named Jaoa (sounds like "WOW!"); there was a Ricky-martin, but hot, look-alike; there was the short and spunky Philippe; there was the flirtatious but married Andre; there was DJ Luigi�but Newgy cornered the blue-eyed, kind of dumpy boy from Jersey, who may or may not be gay (damn metro sexuality!), and gave it her best.

I was looking hot. I was feeling fine. I had noticed him eyeing me during dinner. He seemed happily surprised to see me at the after-party (as I had mentioned at dinner that I probably wouldn't be going). I really turned on the charm, and for five minutes he seemed captivated. But then�just like that�his eyes started to glaze over and he mumbled something about having to find a bathroom.

What happened? Was I too cheerful? Did I make too much eye contact? Did I look too interested when I found out about the fascinating reason he's in Cairo? I am usually a lazy flirt. I let the boy come to me, but last night I decided to pull my finger out (as PG always says), and do some damage, but the only damage done last night was to my usually oblivious ego.

[Update: My ego has recovered just fine.]

Oh well. I put these things here to amuse you, and seeing as I don't feel like writing about Ireland today, but have a lot of time on my hands at work at the moment, I figured I'd talk a bit about the present.

Now back to the past. Random pictures from Dublin and Belfast to keep you busy until I've got more to say (sorry so big!):



Evening on the River Liffey, Dublin


O�Connell Street spire, Dublin. Supposedly the world�s tallest sculpture?


Sunday morning, quiet Dublin street


Green storefront, Dublin



St. Stephen�s green (I think?)


The ominous looking Guinness factory


The Guinness gate


City Hall, Belfast


Belfast teens, after school


Arty shot of a Highway 40 underpass, Belfast


go west + go east