newgyptian
newgyptian

Belfast and the gorgeous Antrim Coast continued (tons of pictures)
November 09, 2005

One thing I realized (which has perhaps been obvious for a while now?)while in Ireland is how low my self-esteem must have plummeted these past two years in Egypt. Before I moved back here, I was the most happy I had ever been with myself, despite the fact that I was a good 40 lbs (probably more) overweight, and I didn�t really take much care in how I dressed, and I wasn�t really going anywhere with my life, etc. But Egyptian demands on how girls dress and present themselves socially are high. Add to that the fact that I feel like a guy hasn�t even so much as looked my way in the two years I�ve been here, and the ability to hold an intelligent conversation is not very highly valued here on the whole, and I have basically turned into the type of girl I generally scorn�the kind who needs external validation of her looks and character, especially from guys.
Anyway, I only bring this up because the amount and type of male attention I received in Ireland was (and is still) surprising to me. On the one hand, my waning self-esteem made me kind of oblivious to the attention while it was being given ( �Was he just flirting with me? No, of course not.�), but in retrospect�and after confirmations from friends and siblings�it�s been unusually gratifying. I also bring it up because Yibba wanted to know if I will be embarking on a Harlequin-type chapter in my Ireland escapades. If we�re talking about the sort of insecurity and cheesy pick up lines that drive romance novels, then the answer is yes. If we�re talking about the romance that is the purpose of romance novels, then, sadly, no.

Enter Neville�the hot Bermudan mentioned in the last entry. On my first night in the hostel in Belfast, after eating and showering and such, I went down to the hostel basement which doubles as a gaming/tv/smoking room. (It looked pretty cool, painted by previous residents, with big, comfy couches, though the poor pictures I have of it do not do it justice.)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com Image hosted by Photobucket.com

There I met two German brothers�Felix and Paul�who extolled to me the virtues of hand-rolled cigarettes and generally talked my ear off. In an attempt to escape Felix� especially boring chatter, I ran upstairs with the excuse that I wanted to check out the vending machine for a quick snack. As I was contemplating whether to get something sweet or savory, a voice behind me�that sounded much like Sgt. Luther Robinson�s from the movie-version of Hedwig�said, �Don�t do it.�
Like a scene straight out of a movie, I turned around to find a tall, slender black man lounging on a loveseat with a grin on his face. He said again, �Don�t do it. I thought about it earlier, but decided against it. That shit�s bad for you.� He then asked me where I was from, what I was doing in Belfast, and then�patting the empty space on the couch next to him�told me to sit down and chat. We chatted a bit, but because Neville was just *so* confident and easy-going, thus for some reason making me uneasy, I made some excuse about having left my bag downstairs, and tried to leave. But Neville wouldn�t let me go until I agreed to have breakfast with him the next morning before I left on the day-long tour up the Antrim coast that I had booked. And so I promised to try and make it, though I�m not a morning person and the tour bus was leaving at 9 etc., etc. And then I went back downstairs and ended up hanging out with the Germans and the two patriotic Canadians (one of whom was tall, skinny, and obnoxious, and whom I obviously found attractive, because God forbid I go for the actually good-looking, interesting, adult as opposed to the insecure, pasty-faced, obnoxious child) until about midnight.

Anyway, my time in Belfast was very much about boys, boys, boys, and their apparent admiration of me and I�m sure I will indulge myself in more stories about that later because it did result in a funny/cute incident. But the reason I went to Belfast in the first place was mainly two see two things: the Antrim Coast, especially the famed Giant�s Causeway, and the political murals in western Belfast. Therefore, the rest of this entry is better told in pictures.


On the drive up the Antrim coast


I felt like I was being mocked�
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

�Just when I thought it couldn�t get more beautiful�.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
�it did.

And you know all those clich�s about Ireland being all castles, and sheep, and cow, and green hills? They�re true.

Image hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.com






At the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge (which is also featured on the cover of the Rough Guide Ireland)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Being afraid of heights, I did not actually cross the rope bridge, only admired it

Image hosted by Photobucket.comAn artsy stairway shot







And finally, we arrived at the Giant�s Causeway, which was, frankly, a little underwhelming, but cool nonetheless

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Image hosted by Photobucket.comThe path to the Causeway

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
The Causeway from above

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
And then from below

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Close-up of the volcanically-formed, hexagonal rocks, which make the Giant�s Causeway a natural wonder







Our last stop on the tour was the Bushmills Whiskey distillery

Image hosted by Photobucket.com


go west + go east