newgyptian
newgyptian

Pressing question of the day
July 28, 2005


It seems that my adventures in art therapy caught no one's interest. No matter, I have a much more pressing matter to address today - is it just me or did Paul Rudd seem like a much taller man in Clueless than he did as Phoebe's boyfriend in Friends?
The thought occurred to me yesterday as I was sitting on my sister�s bed keeping her company as she prepared for her upcoming trip to the US. She was highlighting and organizing material that she is taking with her so that she can study for her medical exams in October. Of course, in the continuous cinema of bad movies that is my mind, the highlighting and organizing of papers reminded me of the scene from Clueless where Cher is helping Josh on her daddy�s case, and then gets yelled at by the mean lawyer dude for highlighting the wrong dates.
I remember finding the Paul very attractive when Clueless first came out. Of course, it probably had as much to do with his geeky alterniness in that movie as much as anything else, especially since I wasn't as aware of my height prejudice then as I am now. But on Friends I only found him...cute. And sweet. And now that I think about it, not as tall as he seemed in Clueless. [PS-It's not because I myself have gotten taller, because I haven't.]
So I'm wondering - does anyone else feel this way? Was Paul Rudd just thinner back then therefore creating a more elongated effect? Did his Clueless 'fro really add that much height? I just don�t know. And according to IMDb dude is 5�9�, which means dude is in fact a little short for my tastes.
In other exciting [for me] news, today was payday, which is great because I�m running *so* low on cash lately. I think between gym expenses, buying Mini a pretty pricey birthday present, the thorn-in-my-side loan repayments, saving up for my upcoming trip, and refusing to really budget what�s left of my salary, I just went a little overboard. When I went to get paid, I spent an inordinately long amount of time in the [male, married, Coptic, balding] accountant�s office today, but only realized it when I stepped out and there were two people sort of hanging around outside his office. Inside we were discussing my brother�s impending return to Egypt, and the accountant�s latest news on his attempts to immigrate to Canada, a process which I am helping him with by writing letters, explaining procedures etc. So, conversation was innocent, but in a society like Egypt where nothing between the sexes is ever really considered innocent, I felt a little self-conscious walking out of his office some 10-15 minutes later to find people waiting.

One last thing � does the opening guitar chord [is that the right phrase?] to the Shins� �So says I� remind anyone else of the Morrissey�s� �I don�t mind if you forget me�? Every time I hear one, I want to start singing the other.

God I�m bored.

go west + go east