newgyptian
newgyptian

*Grrrrrrr*
July 25, 2005

So...the weekend. I was on the North Coast with my family for the Egyptian Independence Day weekend.
Heard news of the Sharm bombings pretty much as soon as they happened, as I happened to turn on the telly just as the news was breaking. The hotel where most of the damage was done is the same one that the Zeniths and I stayed at a few months ago. It's well-known for being a popular hotel for Egyptians to stay at, so either this wasn't an attack on tourism but rather a warning to the Egyptian government, or these particular bombers were just not up on their info. Or the security at this hotel was just not as tight at other, more tourist-heavy hotels.
It all pisses me off, and I just can't wrap my head around what's been happening lately. What the fuck is wrong with people?

Baba and his youngest brother sort of jokingly have a solution for all of Egypt's problems - bulldoze the entire country and start again from scratch. Despite the obvious problems inherent in this solution (er�fascist much?), I can�t say I don�t fantasize about it myself sometimes.

go west + go east