newgyptian
newgyptian

Five entries in one
November 14, 2004

****
So Arafat is finally gone after hanging in the balance for a couple of weeks. Like my "token" Pali friend said this is really the end of the "Old Guard" since Mubarak isn't quite old guard enough to be old guard. I haven't much to say on the matter. Everything everyone else has said is true. Arafat, no matter what, will in some way or another take his rightful place in history, both as a lover and a fighter. THE END.
But, for something a little more eloquent, go here .

It's not an obituary, but I think it is a well-done critical analysis of Arafat.

For the obit, go here .


I have to say I cried a little while watching the funeral procession in Cairo on TV, but I really only started when I saw his little girl crying. I'm a sucker for shit like that. Meanwhile, I have an idea for a satire about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict post-Arafat called "Shalom Arafat." Whaddya think?
*****

Having mentioned "critical analysis" above can I just say that that Gerard Genette is one saucy bastard. I have been reading Narrative Discourse Revisted for most of today, and I swear to god if I could understand the actual theory I'd really be enjoying it. But these past two days in doing research for a paper, between Bakhtin, Genette, Scholes, and Wayne Booth I'm realizing that the more you know the less you realize you really know. Or whatever. People, I'm realizing that I'm retarded. And it's really not doing much for me.
However, I am now willing to pay someone brilliant to write a paper on time and voice in the The Story of Zahra for me. Any takers? I'll pay well.
*****

Speaking of The Story of Zahra. I reread it this week for the umpteenth time, and it really is my favorite novel. I mean, my love for it has actually at this point crossed over into obsession. I have already, in my head, written my first novel, and it's a departure from this one. And ultimately, my big, never gonna happen dream in life is to make tSoZ into an internationally acclaimed film. And it will be the only film I make. The funny thing is I already have the perfect girl picked out to play Zahra. Okay, that's not quite the funny part. The funny funny part is that the girl I have picked out is Israeli. Zahra is from South Lebanon. But, otherwise, this friend of mine I have picked out to play her fits Zahra as I imagine her -- she is not unattractive, but has acne scars; she is neurotic; she is extremely mature,yet childish, and she has an odd attitude towards sex.
******

I got the lenses on my glasses replaced today. Uh, cause I broke 'em yesterday. In a fit of rage. Um, anyway. So, I have actually been meaning to get my eyes checked out for a while now because sitting in front of a computer forty hours+ will mess up your vision, and sure enough when I went to do the eye exam I found out that my vision was worse by -1 in each eye. Uh oh. The new leneses are great, and now I can see all the fine print. I'm loving this. It reminds me of my favorite book from when I was an adolescent called From Anna. Awww, I'm getting sentimental just thinking about it.
******

My brother informed me upon arriving home from the hospital today and calling us up that my American Dreams DVD has arrived. Ohmigod I'm so excited. Seriously, last week's episode? Was when the Beatles arrived in America. It was brilliant, but I didn't get to catch all of it. Seriously, by the time the DVD gets here I will PLEASE GOD be done with This Damn Masters, and I will just sit myself down for three days in front of the telly watching the 7-disc set. OH MY GOD.
******

Okay, it's getting late and I'm supposed to be getting up at dawn to go to the mosque with my family for Eid. Eid Mubarak to my Muslim peeps.

go west + go east