newgyptian
newgyptian

Quick rant about things that don't matter
October 31, 2004

We get satellite TV at home here in the ME, and it really is kind of hit or miss. What comes on on our Orbit Network is not really typical, or what one would expect. It is a mixture popular American and British shows, mixed in with obscure ones (read: seen only on PAX), and some indie Canadian stuff to spice up the mix. The fact that I *still* watch a lot of television has only proven to me once and for all (after four years of college where I had no television and therefore thought I could deny it) that I am a television whore. But recently there have been a couple of shows that I watch that have made me feel a little more justified in my love for television.
The first are the History Channel's Biography and THC Specials shows. They are fun, informative (though probably incredibly biased) views into the personalities and events that have shaped (mostly Western) history.
Yay.

The second show which has sadly, completely taken over my life is the brilliant one-hour drama American Dreams . How can I not love this show when it combines two things which I can honestly say top the things (not people) I love most in this world? 1960's America and Philadelphia. From the opening credits and song to the very end of the show the five episodes I have seen so far have kept me glued to my seat, and in 3/5 cases have actually made me cry. I. LOVE. THIS. SHOW. And I remember seeing a couple commercials for it when I lived with Lady Di and Ms. Dolo, but for some reason I never watched the show. Now I am so sad at the time I've lost. Really, I am just so sad. As in, pathetic. My family knows now that Thursday nights are sacred to me. This works out well for them actually because instead of staying out late with friends on Thursday nights (the Egyptian equivalent of Friday nights), I rush home to catch the second showing of American Dreams at midnight since I usually miss the first showing which is at 8 pm.
I've also just read that the luscious Milo Ventimiglia, otherwise known as the bad-ass Jess from the Gilmore Girls, is now guest appearing on the third season of the show. I am so sad that it will probably be a year before I ever get to see this (hint hint to those of you who love and have VCRs, ahem).
However, I have just discoved that the 7-disc DVD of the first season can be bought at amazon.com for the hefty price of $68.00. Again, if anyone has suddenly remembered that they still haven't gotten me a birthday present, this would be the time to come through. You can send it to my brother in Pennsylvania and he will bring it back with him in December. Incidentally, I will also now begin accepting Christmas presents. Actually, I love this show so much that I'm just going to go ahead and buy this for myself.

For more American Dreams greatness go here and here (this site is great for an episodes guide, and lists all the songs they play in each episode. Woo).

And for some late night, indie Canadian brilliance check out the TV show Madison (if anyone can find me the theme song I will be greatful). There is also the 2003 movie Hatley High which is a movie in the vein of Varsity Blues and other jock flicks, except the "jocks" in this movie, the absolute kings of the school, are the chess team, and the head cheerleader, in her own words, is an ironic post-feminist.
Brilliant. Really.

go west + go east